PDA

View Full Version : Vue 6 videos from siggraph


IvanB
09-03-2006, 07:41 AM
Hey People...I got emailed a newsletter from e-on..in it, is a link to the siggraph show thingy...anyway there are videos of VUE 6 being used, clouds and stuff, thought you'd like to check them out.

http://www.cornucopia3d.com/siggraph.php

The-G-Man
09-03-2006, 05:27 PM
Wow! The paint-on ecosystems and realistic volumetric clouds are really something. E-on have really done a great job here.

IvanB
09-04-2006, 08:51 AM
I love the idea of painting on the eco..SO much more control..I've put off starting a new project I have in mind until I get 6, cos it'll make things heaps easier for what I want to do...aswell as getting xstream..hopefully no more compositing (without shadows on object from enviroment) or synching and trying to match things up...I'm going to keep playing with settings to try lowering render times for now....Its a pitty the video quality wasn't good, they should have zoomed in on the screen not the dude talking.

Mike.H
09-05-2006, 01:00 PM
mm ecopaint is real neat

Gitch
09-05-2006, 04:20 PM
Movies don't work files not found

stevecullum
09-05-2006, 09:05 PM
The one thing that seems suspiciously lacking, is any videos to back up the so called 'flicker free' ecosystems that is mentioned on the Vue site. This IMO was one of the biggest problems with Vue 5 and I'm really hoping the claims being made are actually true. The rest of the features look awesome though and well worth the upgrade price, especioully if you got Vue 5 free with LW9!

The-G-Man
09-06-2006, 02:34 PM
Yeah. Those of use using Vue for commercial work really need flicker free animation.

IvanB
09-06-2006, 03:29 PM
The flicker does my head in...It's so much worse when you apply wind...They may have corrected it in 6, but at what cost...its probably got distance blur set permanantly or something like that...render times might skyrocket...I hope not!..Ive tried everything I could get my hands on..even after 15min renders still flickers...Anyway lets wait and see..

stevecullum
09-06-2006, 03:48 PM
even after 15min renders still flickers...Anyway lets wait and see..

Thanks Ivan, you just saved me hours of wasted time :D

I was going to run a 50 frame test with every AA setting at Max, but the frame render time was astonishingly bad even for just a few 1000 trees.

I would have been very upset if it had still flickered after that! The question is though, how has ILM got round this problem for Pirates 2 if it still fickers with everything cranked right up? Perhaps they were road testing the new tech that we will get in 6?

IvanB
09-07-2006, 09:23 AM
Hey Steve..

I'm thinking 15 mins is not enough...I had my settings pretty high, possibly not high enough (I had Object and Texture anti-aliasing, I believe in broadcast quality)...
I'd say there rendering frames for hours..they must have thousands of pc in there render farms...I read somewhere that each frame in the star wars movie took 33 hours to render..so 15 mins is nothing.
I'd love to send you my clip, but its 110 Mb quicktime movie 8 seconds.. It gets worse..I rendered a foreground image sequence with alpha (to composite in LW) the alpha doesnt match with the images around the edges of the trees, because of the flicker (less render time though)...check out image..the images is compressed so I could upload it.
Ivan.

stevecullum
09-07-2006, 12:17 PM
I feel your pain Ivan, through bitter personal experience. I was working on a project for a client of mine and had the great idea of using Vue to populate the scene with trees etc..

I used the broadcast settings thinking they would be good enough for, well er..'broadcast' and you can imagine my dissapointment and frustration when after 50 hours of rendering I was left with a flickering mess of green stuff.

In the end it was back to tried a tested methods of clipmaps and fakes from within my compositing app.

I guess time will tell if Vue 6 'flicker free' technology is all its cracked up to be. But if it means 33 hours per frame of rendering, I'll be sticking with clipmaps for animation work!

Kevin Sanderson
09-08-2006, 05:43 AM
Have you guys tried the flicker reduction suggestions in this thread?

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=365534

And another with tips from Philippe "Phoul" Bouyer who does the flashy Vue animations that get everyone geeked. I would definitely try his advice!

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=327311

Kevin

IvanB
09-08-2006, 08:42 AM
Thanks Kevin

Yes I have tried all that stuff in one way or another...It all boils down to the higher you go the longer the render time..I guess a LOT MORE experimenting is required...
Im wondering how long that dudes (phoul) render times were..
There are a heap of settings you have to keep track of and so many variations..put this bit up, take this bit down..turn this bit on, etc etc etc...At the same time, you have to render out a fair few frames to see the result...Its a case of, render, for what could be ages..check it out...make a few adjustments..render again..time consuming..I'd rather be working on the actual scene.http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/icons/icon8.gif
Sorry for going on about it..
...........................Anyway, those videos are good huh.http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/icons/icon10.gif
Ivan.

Kevin Sanderson
09-08-2006, 03:24 PM
Thanks Kevin

Yes I have tried all that stuff in one way or another...It all boils down to the higher you go the longer the render time..I guess a LOT MORE experimenting is required...
Im wondering how long that dudes (phoul) render times were..
There are a heap of settings you have to keep track of and so many variations..put this bit up, take this bit down..turn this bit on, etc etc etc...At the same time, you have to render out a fair few frames to see the result...Its a case of, render, for what could be ages..check it out...make a few adjustments..render again..time consuming..I'd rather be working on the actual scene.http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/icons/icon8.gif
Sorry for going on about it..
...........................Anyway, those videos are good huh.http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/icons/icon10.gif
Ivan.

The videos are great. I do know from his other posts that Phoul does the majority of previews at a lower resolution on a much slower machine (about a year ago or so I think it was a 1ghz PIII! He's probably upgraded since...) while his 2 faster machines are working on rendering out the final resolution frames from animations he's already checked. I don't believe he's posted render times. He doesn't post that often..seems he's always doing other things.

CGTalk Moderation
09-08-2006, 03:24 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.