PDA

View Full Version : general help please?

krysiak
09-01-2006, 02:31 AM
I don't know if this is some where... I looked but I might have missed it...but I'm new to drawing. I've doodled in the past, but never anything serious. I've fooled around with shading and coloring my friends drawings but have never been able to actually do a drawing of my own. I'm extremely interested in drawing realism (bodies, animals, scenery, and so on) but have no idea where to start. I've done some reading and I remember hearing that to be really good at it, I need to study up on the human anatomy, such as bones, muscles, proportions, etc. My question is... Is there a site or something, that I can just sit down, and study (or numerous sites). A few good sites that I can read and practice and actually work to understand it all. I haven't been able to find any good ones for a complete beginner like me. I appreciate any help that I might get from this and I really want to learn to draw like some of the other people on this site. :)

Rebeccak
09-01-2006, 03:53 PM
krysiak,

Welcome to CGTalk and to the Anatomy Forum. :)

Your best bet if you have no experience drawing is to start here:

BEGINNERS' Drawing Workshop - Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=269026)

As well you might find the exercises useful here:

Beginners' Lounge (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=297229)

I really think posting your work to the first Workshop will get you going - buy the book that is recommended there, and follow the exercises, they are a good place to start.

Learning to draw takes years. Do you have access to drawing / life drawing classes in your area? Often community colleges have informal life drawing sessions which anyone may attend. If you can afford to take a basic drawing class of any kind, I would encourage you to do so. But the book recommended in the first Workshop I listed is excellent. :)