PDA

View Full Version : Mentalray and render elements(shadow problem)


jigu
08-31-2006, 03:54 AM
Hello,

I made the simple scene. groundplane, Teapot on the ground and one direct light. now ground plane has Matte/Shadow material and teapot has given standard material. and direct light has "raytraced shadow". now i want to render out shadow pass using mentalray renderer. so i go to render elements and choose "shadow" for it.and render out that element.but it doesn't render out shadow pass correctly.

check out images::

Here is the "shadow" pass rendered with mentalray.

http://img132.imageshack.us/img132/6926/mrshadowqe4.jpg

and here it is rendered with default scanline renderer.

http://img169.imageshack.us/img169/1431/scanlineshadoweg3.jpg

any help would be appreciated..

jtaddei
09-08-2006, 06:16 PM
Just a thought,

Your sampling quality may be set a bit low in mental ray. Try setting the minimum and maximum a little higher, probably 1/4 and 4 would be a good way to still maintain semi fast speeds while getting a somewhat viewable render.

vaXn8d
09-21-2006, 09:29 PM
You need to enable the "Enable Filtering" option under the Selected Element Parameters.

CGTalk Moderation
09-21-2006, 09:29 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.