PDA

View Full Version : export maya to xsi


Dan Dixon
03-16-2002, 11:51 AM
any help please. our company is looking to switch pagkages. sorry if someones asked this already. but still need help

skyPhyr
03-16-2002, 01:04 PM
Hi,

Well - it depends on your version of Maya and your version of XSI..

If you just need the models then export from maya as an IGES and import it into XSI. Though this is very fickle and you're just as likely to have surfaces go missing. This also will not bring any texture information over.

There is a beta obj importer/exporter for XSI - though it didn't appear to do any NURBs surfaces for me - it may do some simple models and is supposed to support materials..

Then there's Lambsoft Movetools - though it doesn't support maya 4 and I'm not sure if it supports XSI or just Softimage|3D. You can find out more about it on http://www.lambsoft.com

The final option is Deep Exploration - though I don't know how well this does the job either. You can check it out on http://www.righthemisphere.com and I'm pretty sure they have a demo there.

Hope this helps - unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any 100% reliable way of getting scenes from Maya to XSI and certainly not anything that guarantees translation of texturing and animation data.

Best of luck,

skyPhyr.

Dan Dixon
03-17-2002, 02:34 AM
thanks for the help i'll take a look thanks thow

SheepFactory
03-17-2002, 04:24 AM
there is also polytrans ,

www.okino.com

A|i

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.