PDA

View Full Version : User Friendly : Source Engine Vs Unreal Engine

Littleberu
08-27-2006, 05:21 PM
Hi,

I'm no coder, and I want to do a small MOD, something cool for me. I looked at both mod Wiki, and it looks like there is a pretty good amount of info on both. My question is this : Which one of them is the easiest, the most user-friendly? Of course, I'm willing to learn codding. But I'm just doing this for fun.

DooFi
08-27-2006, 05:42 PM
i've never created a mod, so i can only talk about the editors. In my opinion UED is much more comfortable than Hammer, UED, for example has subtract brushes and Hammer lacks them entirely... Also you have to convert models and textures with external tools and you have to place them in special directories to use them in Hammer, if i'm not mistaken. That takes much time and is really uncomfortable.. For UED you just save stuff in a useful file-format and import it into the myLevel package. Then you can create Shaders and stuff in UED (and afaik thats also easier than in Hammer). In my view triggers and movers can also be created lots easier in UnrealED.

However, as i said, I have no clue about mod-creation and i heard there was some kind of a wizard helping one to create a Source-Mod, but i dont have experience with that.

Littleberu
08-27-2006, 05:58 PM
i've never created a mod, so i can only talk about the editors. In my opinion UED is much more comfortable than Hammer, UED, for example has subtract brushes and Hammer lacks them entirely... Also you have to convert models and textures with external tools and you have to place them in special directories to use them in Hammer, if i'm not mistaken. That takes much time and is really uncomfortable.. For UED you just save stuff in a useful file-format and import it into the myLevel package. Then you can create Shaders and stuff in UED (and afaik thats also easier than in Hammer). In my view triggers and movers can also be created lots easier in UnrealED.