PDA

View Full Version : Filling a box with water?

AlexC
08-21-2006, 09:38 PM
Hey,

Me and my bro have been working on a new idea for suspension fork dampning/rebound - I have no idea how it works but I'm just making it in 3D! He'd like to whack some Fluid in there to see if everything would work as planned before he makes the proto-type.

Problem is, I've never done any Fluid Dynamics before. I've been palying around with Super Spray, but all I can get is a few dots comming out of an emmiter. How can I actaully make it fill a box up first?

Thanks,

Hook
08-22-2006, 06:08 AM
You Cant.

But try Glu3D, you can download a trial here www.3Daliens.com (http://www.3daliens.com/) there is plenty of info on the website.

BrandonD
08-22-2006, 06:16 AM
If you're trying to visualize something that's physically real, to see how things will solve, then a 3d animation package isn't the best choice. Our tools have zero focus on accuracy whatsoever, so as you can imagine, artistic software isn't so good for engineering. Do some research on CFD tools for science if you want accurate fluid modeling.

AlexC
08-22-2006, 07:47 AM
Aye, I know it's not the most accurate of things but it doesn't have to be really accurate, we basicly just need to drop some fluid in there and see if it flows ok. But I'll check out those CFD tools aswell, thanks.

Hook, Ahh I found Glu3D but didn't find a trial for it - I'll check that out now!

Thewiruz
08-22-2006, 10:47 AM
Well the only thing i say is Realflow and they have a 30day trial i belive.Just create a fluid and export it to max and render it.Well sounds easy but you need to read a bit,also dont forget to download their maxplugin which you need

titan0585
09-13-2006, 10:05 PM
I would recommend Realflow, too. That's awesome.

Glacierise
09-19-2006, 01:38 PM
Well, actually you can fill a box with a fluid in PFlow. It is kind of fake - no physics sim or whatever, but it looks cool, so no problem with me :)

The trick is as follows: