PDA

View Full Version : Sound off! Documentation

penguinpavilion
01-25-2003, 08:14 AM
Lets let them know what we think about this.

serg2
01-25-2003, 10:52 AM
The Best documentation - AM2000.doc (33 mb) + v85add.doc
It is enough it completely
The innovations accustom and without the documentation

Hookflash
01-25-2003, 06:05 PM
Documentation is one of the most important "features" in need of tweaking in A:M, imo.

penguinpavilion
01-25-2003, 07:27 PM
Moderators: Could someone please rename the top level of this post to "Sound Off! Documentation". It is just too ambiguous right now, sorry.

I would have, but even though I started this poll, only moderators can edit things like that.

pabitel
01-25-2003, 10:54 PM
I'm a professional technical writer, and I can honestly say that A:M has the worst documentation I've ever seen. If it weren't for David Rogers' book, Sherwood Forest, and the A:M List Search Engine, I would've never gotten anywhere. The first screen in the online help should state: "Abandon hope all ye who enter here."

But saying this, LightWave doesn't even have online help. Imagine: a $1,500 program without online help! And the only reason they have a decent manual is that someone wrote it for a college project and gave it to NewTek in exchange for a free release.

Wegg
01-25-2003, 10:58 PM
WOwa. . . really!??! Thats wild.

They should just pay David Rogers and Charles River and just make it the "Official" manual.

I know that'd make David happy. Poor bugger spent a lot of time writing that thing. ..

Stychentyme
01-25-2003, 11:11 PM
The 'manual' that comes with AM is pretty vague. It has more information on animation itself than it has on the software.

David Rogers book is much closer to what a manual should be.

They need to create something that goes over ALL the features of AM, how to use them, and tutorials on the various methods that exist to use them most efficently.