PDA

View Full Version : Realflow Question - Do max can import soft body dynamics of RF4 ??


vishesh-cgs
08-21-2006, 02:20 AM
Hi fellows,
I am doing a simple simulation which involves - fluid particles, rigid body dynamics, soft body dynamics of RF. i am happy with the simulation in RF. its working fine, no issues with that.

here is a preview of the simulation in RF. click the thumbnail to download the movie [ 2.8 M ] --->

http://www.passion-studio.com/Maxforums/Realflow-Preview.jpg (http://www.passion-studio.com/Maxforums/Realflow-Preview.zip)

The problem ceates when i import the sd file created by Realflow. The cloth [ which is a max plane object ] is assigned a soft body dynamics property in RF. cloth object interacts with the water, cube. so it deforms.

but max is not able to capture the dynamics of the cloth from the sd file. max can easily read the dynamics of the cube as its a rigid body in RF.

here is a preview of the max viewport after importing sd file. click the thumbnail to download the movie [ 1.6 M ] --->

http://www.passion-studio.com/Maxforums/Max-Cloth-sd_import_method.jpg (http://www.passion-studio.com/Maxforums/Max-Cloth-sd_import_method.zip)


as u can see in the animation above, plane remains static in the whole animation. thats the problem. why its not able to read the cloth dynamics from the sd file ???

here is a preview of the max viewport after importing sd file.... and after importing bin file of the cloth which is created by RF. click the thumbnail to download the movie [ 2.3 M ] --->


http://www.passion-studio.com/Maxforums/Max-Cloth-bin_import_method.jpg (http://www.passion-studio.com/Maxforums/Max-Cloth-bin_import_method.zip)


now here atleast max can read the bin file created by RF of the cloth object. thats a good thing.

so , what do u guys think..... wy max is not reading the cloth object dynamics from the sd file.
have u used soft body dynamics of RF ???

thanx for the help in advance.
Cheers !!!

Ls3D
08-24-2006, 12:04 AM
Well since NL had the balls to shut down their user forum...

The SD loader is not without problems, including scale issues and missing dynamics solutions.

Since the .bin loader is working why not just go with that?

Get what you can out of RealFlow because support and bug fixes are hard to come by. Is that the RF4 demo? I'm not used to seeing those stats in green text.

-Shea

vishesh-cgs
08-24-2006, 03:11 AM
i agree that sd loader has some problems.
i find realflow a very nice software. its just max interactivity needs improvement.

regarding the bin loader.... well i have tried using blob mesh of max to generate the mesh. but i am not getting the cloth like look. i will try again, see if i can get better results...
also its too slow to generate as compared to realflow mesh generation.

Yes, its RF4. u should try RF4, its awesome. i just love the new user interface. looks like they improved it alot. its launched in july already.

regarding sd file... the sd file which is ceated by the realflow which contains animation. well i tried to import back in realflow. i have seen that realflow can read the cloth dynamics easily without any problem at all. so sd file contains the cloth dynamics data. its just, max is unable to read that.

thanks for the suggestion Ls3D ....
Cheers !!!

Ls3D
08-24-2006, 08:42 AM
When I said the mesh bin was working, why not... I thought that you were outputting the deformation as OBJ and somehow porting that to max or using one of the other loaders.

Have you tried outputting just the cloth solution? Perhaps doing a save as and then deleting other geometry and daemons could work. There was a guy on the NL forum that succesfully deformed a cloth like mesh with RF fluids -again too bad the dorks shut it down - I had a look in my contact history but could not find him.

I wonder if the NL forum has been crawled and backed up? I once googled myself and found some real old post from a now dead board.

In closing be sure to just keep trying and rebuild the scene from scratch a few times. RF is finicky and I have made my biggest breakthroughs will brute force determination, taking a slightly different path to the problem.

-Shea

Ls3D
08-24-2006, 08:42 AM
EDIT: Somehow created a double post.

-S

vishesh-cgs
08-24-2006, 11:32 AM
>>>> When I said the mesh bin was working, why not... I thought that you were outputting the deformation as OBJ and somehow porting that to max or using one of the other loaders.

well only particle bin is working for the cloth.
See in RF3, if we have to make cloth than the only option we have is to use the elastic particles to simulate cloth.
also objects can be assigned only Rigid body dynamics in RF3.

but in RF4 they have added a new property called as soft body dynamics. so we can use this property to simulate soft bodies like cloth etc....
but here we are asigning this property to objects not particles. so we can't use mesh bin here.

so we can export soft body dynamics for the object as sd file
....and realflow also allow us to export the deformation as particle bin where it replaces every vertices with a particle. this is just some extra feature it provides.

i think i will use max blob mesh ....i hope i can generate cloth like mesh with it.

>>>Have you tried outputting just the cloth solution? Perhaps doing a save as and then deleting other geometry and daemons could work

yes i tried that, it still doesn't work.
my guess is that since its a new feature so they just released the software before making the sd file fully functional. i hope they can provide a fix for this in the future.

>>>>There was a guy on the NL forum that succesfully deformed a cloth like mesh with RF fluids -again too bad the dorks shut it down

Wow !!! he must have used daemons like surface tensions etc for simulating this.
this is so cool. any idea how he did that. i like to try that too :D

>>>>>In closing be sure to just keep trying and rebuild the scene from scratch a few times. RF is finicky and I have made my biggest breakthroughs will brute force determination, taking a slightly different path to the problem

well i tried with a new file and did a small test with soft body dynamics. max still not able to read the sd file for soft body dynamics. its like max don't know how to read that.

if you have access to RF4, i can upload my RF setup and you might have a look....??

Its too bad that Realflow has even problems doing simple things. its a very simple thing and it should work actually. :(

Ls3D
08-24-2006, 06:20 PM
if you have access to RF4, i can upload my RF setup and you might have a look....??

Well I only have a RF3 license, and because of the high upgrade price and lack of support, bugs etc I am not even going to demo RF4.

I wonder if you could create a depth map for displacement using the particle bin and meta-particles. Perhaps this way you could do some post processing in AfterEffect to smooth the results (blur) and then apply this to a basic mesh inside max? Not an elegant idea, but something to try.

-Shea

vishesh-cgs
08-25-2006, 03:02 AM
Well I only have a RF3 license, and because of the high upgrade price and lack of support, bugs etc I am not even going to demo RF4.


LoL .. this is so true http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/icons/icon10.gif

i will try the method mentioned by you. i will post the results if i got decent results.

i have also checked the NL webiste. still there is no news regarding when they will re-launch the forum. lets hope they shall launch the forum soon.

Thanks man http://forums.cgsociety.org/images/icons/icon13.gif

CGTalk Moderation
08-25-2006, 03:02 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.