PDA

View Full Version : Appearing in Image Comics FUSED! soon.


PJC
01-25-2003, 06:22 AM
This is the image that almost made me lose my mind.

Decided to switch to v9 to do this image....v9 wasn't quite ready yet.

After many, many delays I finally had to try to render in an ALPHA of v10. Much nail biting, and praying to the AM gods got it done and it only made it into the issue (FUSED! issue #4) because of a printing delay.

Basically straight out of AM v10 with a little Photoshop.

When it works, AM kicks ass!!

http://www.ccpots.com/PJCdemo/pjccomic/Fused/FUSED_CYDOWNsm.jpg

- pjc

My Fault
01-25-2003, 06:25 AM
Great look! Is that issue on the stands now?

PJC
01-25-2003, 06:31 AM
No, not yet. Should be early next month I believe.

Issue #3 is the latest one, and it has this pin-up by me in it:

http://www.ccpots.com/PJCdemo/pjccomic/Fused/FUSEDMM_FINALSM.jpg

You can order copies directly from the creators website:

http://www.steveniles.com (http://)

Image did an awesome job on the printing.

Thanks for the comments.

- patrick j. clarke

zandoria
01-25-2003, 03:03 PM
Patrick,
Very cool! I like the toon lines. I only recently started playing with the toon shader in A:M .

I'm trying to use it to get a look like Simon Bisley or Frank Frazetta, with those dark edges blended with standard shading...

nothing to show yet...

Roger Eberhart
01-25-2003, 04:43 PM
What is Calibretto's head doing on that body? Well, I guess Bretto doesn't need it anymore. Nice model. It seems like the only time AM's renderer shines is with toon rendering.

My Fault
01-25-2003, 04:53 PM
Originally posted by zandoria
Patrick,
Very cool! I like the toon lines. I only recently started playing with the toon shader in A:M .

I'm trying to use it to get a look like Simon Bisley or Frank Frazetta, with those dark edges blended with standard shading...

nothing to show yet...

Oooh, if you can manage a Biz like look that would be most impressive Will. Tar would look even cooler! :thumbsup:

PJC
01-26-2003, 05:55 AM
Just in case anyone cared:

My process is this:

Raytrace my image (no toon renderer)

Black and white toon renderer (used some times for fine lines)

Ink the rest in Photoshop.

I don't have too many problems getting good quality out of AM's renderer, I would like it faster, more control over AA and use less ram for high pixel images and I would be even happier.

- pjc

HashJT
01-29-2003, 12:53 AM
Patrick, would you be kind enough to e-mail me, I would love to get a chance to talk to you...

James
james@hash.com

JoeW
01-31-2003, 07:16 AM
LOL! I was looking at that A-10! I modeled that bad-boy back in '98 for the game "Rampage 2", I believe.... Heh - good to see someone put it to good use. (at least it LOOKS exactly like the one I modeled - did you get it off the CD?)

BTW - nice images :)

JoeW

PJC
01-31-2003, 10:40 PM
Joe,

Thanks!

Yeah, it's off the CD. I tweaked it so it was as cartoony in proportions, and added the particle system and exhaust to the tail end of the missle, but hey it did the job, especially since they are background elements.

What's funny is that I didn't know there were A-10s on the disk, and I really wanted these badasses in this picture and was all set to model them and viola' I found a perfectly good one on the AM CD. AM doesn't have that many objects out there, so I counted myself lucky.

Thanks for creating the A-10, even tho the bad guys are flying them ;)

- pjc

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.