PDA

View Full Version : Spot light missing?


Andy1010
08-18-2006, 01:30 PM
Hi, I'm trying to switch over to Maya at my work. When I insert a light in to the scene it doesn't show up in the viewport. When I render it works fine. The problem I have is that I don't have a cone angle to see where I'm pointing it. Is this just a setting that I have check off? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

pgraham
08-18-2006, 02:23 PM
make sure lights are visible in the "show" menu at the top of the viewport.

Andy1010
08-18-2006, 03:25 PM
No the light are turned on in the show menu. Any other thoughts?

tracer7
08-18-2006, 04:23 PM
If you've changed the units of your scene from Maya's default centimeter there is a good chance that the view camera's clipping planes are hiding a light from view.

In your outliner click on your problematic views camera (top, side, front, etc.) and then open the attribute editor for that camera. Open up the attributes for clipping planes and double or triple the max value. If that doesn't help try even higher values.

Palmer

CGTalk Moderation
08-18-2006, 04:23 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.