PDA

View Full Version : Spline tangent and vectors...

Mike Abbott
08-17-2006, 08:03 PM
Struggling to get to grips with this - I'm no programmer and haven't quite got my head around vectors and matrices yet...

I've got a ThinkingParticles set up - based on the 'TP spline emitter' object in the library using a spline on the XZ plane.

I can basically understand the 'TP sline emitter' set up - how the emitter is distributed over the spline length etc.

However...
What I want the emitter to do is to emit from the spline - but at right angles to the tangent of the spline at each individual location. That's where I'm having difficulty.

I can see that the spline node has a tangent output port available - outputting vector data (is this a velocity vector?). So what I want to do is add "90 degrees" (or approx 1.57 radians) to that direction, without adjusting the emission speed.

Can someone tell me how to change just that angle?

Thanks,

Mike A.

Srek
08-18-2006, 06:27 AM
There is no single right angle to a tangent. A tangent is just a vector in a 3D space and there are unlimited other vectors that have a 90° angle to it.
You will need an additional fixed point beside the vector to define a specific direction.
Cheers
Björn

Mike Abbott
08-18-2006, 08:03 AM
I thought you might say that ;)

So let me be more specific:
How would I do this on the basis that the spline lines flat on the XZ plane and my other point of reference is Y ("up")?

Mike

Srek
08-18-2006, 09:20 AM
The vector cross product is what you are looking for. Using it on the tangent and a second vector that points to +y (0,1,0 should be sufficent in global space) will give you a new vector that is at a right angle to the plane described by the two vectors.
Keep in mind that this is only a direction vector not a point vector.
Cheers
Björn

Mike Abbott
08-18-2006, 11:01 AM
The vector cross product...
will give you a new vector that is at a right angle to the plane described by the two vectors.