PDA

View Full Version : Lets get the ball rolling. Hands Question....

strick9
01-24-2003, 07:23 PM
I just got Motionbuilder recenty, and used the VTM's from 3-D Buzz to get started. I have not imported a model with the hands rigged yet. My question is when you characterize the model with the control rig, is there controls for each individual finger and stuff on there, because I noticed there is only one cell on the hands in the character Rig in the tool bar?

Sorry if the question is worded poorly I am still new to MB

Michel Besner
01-24-2003, 07:37 PM
there is no pre-built rigs for fingers (or toes) at this point so you need to build traditionnal contrainst to do so. We are definitively investigating this feature for upcoming versions ... (we are very client driven)

M.

strick9
01-24-2003, 07:42 PM
We are definitively investigating this feature for upcoming versions

Awesome!!! :beer:

CurtisG
01-24-2003, 09:36 PM
When Characterizing your character in Motionbuilder, there is a specific section for fingers, that gives you control of your characters hands, on a per finger basis.

We are looking at more advanced controls for fingers/toes, and as Michel posted before, we are allways open to suggestions and feature requests. Keep them coming!

Cheers,

strick9
01-24-2003, 09:42 PM
A really cool way to control the fingers in MB would be to create a slider type control similar to the ones in Maya, you use with blend shapes.

mrochon
01-24-2003, 10:32 PM
One good way that MB provides for animating Hands is by using the "Pose Controls" window.

It lets you create banks of poses for the whole character.
You can than reapply those Poses to any Character's Control Rig, at any point in time.

The cool thing is that Poses are stored for the whole body of the character, but they can be pasted on single Body Parts (like Hands), if you want to.
You simply need to be in "Body Parts" keying mode and have one of the effectors of a body part selected when you paste the pose.