PDA

View Full Version : maya - tire polygon modeling - problem


pepinho
08-17-2006, 12:25 PM
hi folks

i have a little problem in building a tire in maya with polygons.

in the first step, i create the primary shape:
http://aycu25.webshots.com/image/2824/2000689627608100421_rs.jpg (http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2000689627608100421)

then i duplicate(as instance) this, in a row:
http://aycu03.webshots.com/image/1602/2000601010779545956_rs.jpg (http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2000601010779545956)

combined all pieces and used the bend deformer:
http://aycu03.webshots.com/image/1602/2000685578355803761_rs.jpg (http://allyoucanupload.webshots.com/v/2000685578355803761)


BUT now the problem is, i want to do some fine work on the primary shape, without re-doing all the steps of duplicate and deform. so like the third pic, i only want to work on the primary shape, but the changes should work on the complete tire shape.

I tried to combine only the duplicates, and let the primary shape outside, but maya delete my primary shape.

do you know a solution for this?

i hope you understand my problem and my english (german guy ;) )

Lordwafik
08-18-2006, 01:15 AM
Hm I don't have any Maya experience, but if it's anything like max, you can use the bend modifier on all the objects/grouped objects, without having to combine first.

Combining the objects makes it a new object, and it's no longer usable with your instanced primary object.

Hope we are thinking on the same line of thought :thumbsup:

pepinho
08-19-2006, 11:29 AM
i know what you want and i tried this too, but as lang as the duplicates are a instace of my primary shape, the deformer does his job on every shape, indifferent the shapes are in one group or the are all selected.

my7hai
08-20-2006, 02:51 PM
i know what you want and i tried this too, but as lang as the duplicates are a instace of my primary shape, the deformer does his job on every shape, indifferent the shapes are in one group or the are all selected.

i think it will work when you combine the shapes and delete the history :D
but im a newbie, so i could be wrong :)

CGTalk Moderation
08-20-2006, 02:51 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.