PDA

View Full Version : I need to convert from PAL to NTSC, help please?


Velocamonkey
01-24-2003, 08:48 AM
Hello, I made a small 3d short for Uni a while ago and have it on VHS and as an avi file, I put it online a while ago and have been invited to send it into a film festival in Canada. Cool bananas. The thing is they need it in NTSC and my version is in PAL, being in the UK and all.

I would just render it all out of max again in NTSC and add the sound. But I made it so long ago that I don't have all the sounds and the files max 4 files don't seem to open properly in max 5.

So is there any way to just convert from PAL to NTSC?

Thanks.

Gyan
01-24-2003, 10:53 PM
Originally posted by Velocamonkey


So is there any way to just convert from PAL to NTSC?

Thanks.

PAL is 25.00 fps and scanned at 576 lines.

NTSC is 29.97 fps and scanned at 480 lines.

Best option indeed would be to rerender it.

Else, you will to squeeze/crop it.

Also will have to either drop some frames or lengthen the anim.


On top of that, you'll need a card with a NTSC encoder and a VCR that accepts NTSC signals.

Without rerendering, I see 2 options.

1) Go to some post facility locally. Chances are you can get it done there although it will cost you. No idea how much in UK.

2) If you know some CG friend in US/Canada, send the AVI over the ask them to dump it to tape.

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 06:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.