PDA

View Full Version : Speed of simple add operation

T-bat
08-14-2006, 05:32 PM
Hi,

Newbie here. Can somebody post how long it takes to composite two 4096 x 2048 bmp images together? Comp operation is simple add. I've written simple command line compositing app. Well.. It does just add right now, but I guess it can be called that way:D. My current time is 55 s on Athlon xp 2000+ with 768 MB RAM. That is slow, right?

nurcc
08-18-2006, 07:23 AM
You could check your results against the ImageMagick library, which is open source. I think you can use mogrify to composite, among others.

TheGameMaker
08-23-2006, 03:05 PM
yes it is... Ps can do it in nearly realtime....
what language do you use?

T-bat
08-23-2006, 06:32 PM
Haven't tried ImageMagick yet..

But yeah. 55 s was really slow. I don't exactly remember my current times after few code changes, but it was about 11 s, which isn't fastest, but it's faster then before:).
I use c++. Right now I am trying to add some script/flow like file support.

Robert Bateman
08-24-2006, 03:41 PM
The quickest thing available for comping images together is the GPU and some blending operations (you might need to split the images up and do it there). Whilst normally sending that amount of data about isn't generally recommended, the benenifts of using the GPU should outweight the (comparitivly) small cost of sending and reading back the data.

/edit

btw, this sounds like a very slow thing imo. You are accessing raw data pointers i assume? ie, not doing something silly like :

setOutPixel( getInPixel1() + getInPixel2() );

Function call overhead of that sort would kill performance (and i assume you are building in release mode with optimisations turned on).

I assume you are using some sort of direct access to the pixels anyway, ie walking over the raw data with pointers rather than using some sort of (i*height + j) indexing to the pixels?

unsigned bytes_per_pixel=3; // rgb

unsigned char* pImage1 = someImageData;