PDA

View Full Version : Quadro FX is available for pre-order sales


LeeTN
01-23-2003, 05:03 PM
A couple of web sites have the Quadro FX line available for pre-order. All of them show February as the shipping date with no more info available than that...prices are as announced $1295 for the FX 1000 and $1995 for the FX 2000.

If you just got to have it now:

3DShop (http://www.the3dshop.com/)

ENPC (http://www.enpc.com/cgi-bin/enpc/scan/fi%3Dproducts/co%3Dyes/sf%3Dsubcat1/se%3DWork%2520Station/op%3Deq.html?mv_pc=PriceWatchPNYQUADROFX1000) (it's at the bootom of the page)

Also, Amazon International is slowly dribbling out test results on these cards...you can see them here

test results (http://www.amazoninternational.com/html/news/news_current.asp)

MaDSheeP
01-23-2003, 05:15 PM
Sweet Jesus!

i was wrong! hehe, those cards are going to be an arm and a leg! and possible a black market kidney!

course for a kidney you would get money back, those things go for like $10k!

aaanyway, at least these will hopefully push down the 750 and 900XGL's :)

MaDSheeP
01-23-2003, 05:16 PM
come to think of it.....

the last generation Quadro cards will Still be in production right??

no way nvidia can get away with charging that much and having no bargin quadros? unless they have a few more in production and we are just seeing the top of the top.. :shrug: :)

LeeTN
01-23-2003, 05:27 PM
MaDSheeP,

You can find Quadro 4 980 XGL's for about $560 at PriceWatch and PriceGrabber. 900 XGL's are about the same price. 750 XGL's range from $400 to $500.

I personally am planning on waiting for thorough reviews before I decide whether it's an FX 1000, 980 XGL or FireGL X1 for me.

danhua76
01-23-2003, 05:28 PM
man, for a price like that i would expect to get atleast 256mb of ram on board. shame on you nvdia :shame: you may be a big brand name now, but don't expect us to pay a premium for a brand name. this product better had be worth the price. :annoyed:

GregHess
01-23-2003, 05:31 PM
I guess they figured that since their performance in certain apps is close to, or faster then 3dlab's wildcat cards, that they could charge wildcat prices.

Do remember that even their consumer cards are carrying a $399 USD price tag. Maybe Intel and nvidia should have a bargain deal when you buy a 3.06 HT and Quadro-2000FX...get a dual athlon system free!

mmwizard
01-23-2003, 06:34 PM
Say what????
Are they **** mad???

If i pay such an amount of money i expect a free dual Athlon 3Ghz
And BtW what's wrong with the ATI 9700 pro???

GregHess
01-23-2003, 06:57 PM
If you do a quick search on pricewatch, you can find a Quadro4 980 XL for around 550 USD (Ya major price drop). A quadro FX 2000 goes for around 2000 USD. If you look at the latest spec scores (www.2cpu.com), a Quadro 2000 FX is 26% faster, at 4X the cost.

Of course that difference in spec scores is impressive, but I think we'll really need to see more application specific testing to know if these cards are worth the massive cost increase over their Quadro4 brethern.

Cararan
01-23-2003, 07:17 PM
Well i'll be Damn more than my copy of Lightwave. I knew we had to pay alot for the new Quadro FX's, But my goodness.

Solesurvivor
01-23-2003, 08:12 PM
and this performance is for the fx2000, so what will the performance of the fx1000 be, for 1000$, not too good me thinks

gustojunk
01-23-2003, 09:18 PM
I wonder how these cards are going to be effected by the news that unwinder is making available a softfiregl patch so you can buy a &350 ATI 9700 Pro and hack it to a Fire GL X1.

David Watters
01-24-2003, 01:19 AM

David Watters
01-24-2003, 01:22 AM

David Watters
01-24-2003, 01:26 AM

David Watters
01-24-2003, 01:28 AM

StefanDidak
01-24-2003, 03:15 AM
Originally posted by David Watters
What are you going to do with that memory?

We will look at providing a 256 MB board but I am wondering what your requirement is?


I don't know about his, but in our case the 256MB minimum, and preferably like the 384MB we're using on the 7210 series is because we simply need to be able to load up very high resolution maps that will hold out perfectly when doing any realtime zooming/close-ups without having to resort to all sorts of mapping tricks and buffer switching that will ultimately be visually noticable in a demanding environment. And because 256MB or more allows for an easier double-buffering and prep-stage for fast map switching under the same circumstances (e.g. as in switching HD streams that are used as maps).

StefanDidak
01-24-2003, 03:19 AM
Originally posted by David Watters
It (Quadro FX 1000) will only be that fastest graphics subsystem that any amount of money can buy if you don't count the FX 2000.

I've seen you make some pretty impressive claims about it but I do need to ask if you're talking about theoretical speed and throughput or a practical speed. For instance, what's the common CPU load on the FX1K and FX2K on an average dual Xeon system when this fastest graphics subsystem is pushed to its maximum? Does it still leave sufficient system CPU time or does it send it through the roof in peaks or at a steady 20-50% ?

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 07:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.