PDA

View Full Version : Is Messiha Animate usable for me

HellBorn
01-23-2003, 02:11 PM
The Current Offer for Messia is something I just about could afford so I would have to use it as a standalone application. Problem is that I cant afford no more than that. Models is no problem if it supports import of wavefront models but what about the animation rendering and texture handling side of it.
Is there any free renderengines that I can use from Messiha?

Let me also say that I am an hobbyist tired of creases and I'm locking for something that can replace AM. My budget is somewere around $600. I have downloaded the demo and there is so many buttons and stuff and I don't know what might have been disabled in the demo. That's why asking instead of figuring it out for myself.

Wish I could afford Messiha studio but there is no chance of that.

What about it , or any other suggestions?

Roger Eberhart
01-23-2003, 04:17 PM
I believe you can do preview renders from Animate. But you won't be able to texture properly without Studio. Also, the renderer in studio is still in beta. After dealing with Hash, I'm kinda tired of beta testing products for people. I went with Lightwave. In 7.5 the animation tools aren't that bad. There is NLA and a cool way of handling morph targets. There are usually some offers running to get it for $995, so I would start saving your pennies. In the meantime, try modeling in Wings 3D and rendering in Blender. Both programs are more stable than AM ever was. Wings will get you up to speed in SubD modeling. Once you get the hang of that you'll never want to touch patches again.

Wegg
01-23-2003, 05:33 PM
Originally posted by HellBorn
Wish I could afford Messiha studio but there is no chance of that.

What about it , or any other suggestions?

I would suggest hanging out in the Lightwave and Messiah mailing lists and look for people selling their coppies. I have seen Animate for $350 and even Messiah/Lightwave combos for as low as $900.