PDA

View Full Version : Photoshop or Painter

aggie93
08-08-2006, 03:57 PM
I am fixing to buy digital software. I am new and will more than like paint more than do photo manips. I have no experience in digital painting. What is everyones preference with reasons, please?

BeckyWC
08-08-2006, 04:02 PM
Why not just download the trial versions of both painter and photoshop and see which one you prefer.

aggie93
08-08-2006, 04:10 PM
Why not just download the trial versions of both painter and photoshop and see which one you prefer.

Becky - I would but I am ordering my computer online in a few days and I can have it packaged with it. I have tried the trial of painter, but it will be difficult to try and master it in a short time. Thanks though!

Rebeccak
08-08-2006, 09:29 PM
aggie,

If you need an all around image editor, then PS is for you. Of course Painter is better for painterly effects, but frankly you can purchase a cheap program like Art Rage ($20) to experiment with brushstrokes. For my money, I would get PS as it's image editing capability is beyond compare.

Cheers,

~Rebeccak

Rist
08-08-2006, 09:53 PM
Painter might have the eyecandy, but photoshop has the utility. You will love photoshop for more than just art.

pierceda
08-09-2006, 02:41 AM
Photoshop defines digital art, Painter simulates traditional art. Depending on your experience or inexperience with traditional art, either Photoshop or Painter may be eaiser for you.

With some experience with custom brushes and brush settings in Photoshop, you can develop a very painterly brushy look. However, Photoshop is the digital approach and it uses its own vocabulary and methods for doing things that have no real equivalent in traditional mediums.