PDA

View Full Version : Poly or Nurbs?

NamelessWShadow
08-02-2006, 09:53 PM
Hello! Im new to the world of maya and been resently just diving into a bunch of tutorials lately. The two most common types of modeling i kept finding were With Nurbs and Polys, what exactly is the difference? Does one animate better then the other? Or do they both do the same thing just... a little differently ^^;;? Since im new is there any specific one i should stick to until getting the hang of things? Also, i keep finding stuff on "edge-looping" @@;; can anyone help me with that to, thanks.

kirigoi
08-03-2006, 08:21 PM
First of all, get a decent book (there are loads for Maya) and have a look at example projects using each modelling paradigm. Try googling or wikipedia for descriptions (e.g. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NURBS).

Basically, NURBS surfaces are a mathematical way of representing organic shapes using a 2D lattice of curves. They have certain advantages: e.g.
Complex, smooth topology can be created with relatively few control points
The curves can be split without destroying the shape of the object
Fast, with relatively little memory required.

They have disadvantages too:
Complex geometry has to be created by stitching together multiple NURBS patches
Sometimes hard to join different surfaces with different numbers of vertices
Hard to animate across seams
Complex geometry with multiple branches can be tricky.

However, they are the industry standard for cars, some product design and CAD applications etc.

Polygons are much more basic; if you want a smooth edge you've got to make the geometry yourself, and close inspection can show that the surfaces aren't truly smooth. However, they can be much more versatile and are easier to learn.