PDA

View Full Version : Beyond the OBJ plugin

walasek
01-22-2003, 04:24 AM
First, let me say I think this forum is a good idea. I just hope it lasts. Also, I am a programmer by nature. I have hardly modelled, textured, or animated anything at all. I enjoy programming, at it seems that some of my talents are useful here.

This is a post I put on the AM mailing list. I did get very good response, but I also found out other ways of doing decals and uv mapping without flattening. Tell me what you think of this idea...

While doing the .OBJ plugin, I got my first taste of trying to create the maps used for models (I have never done that before and always thought of it as out of my reach). After playing with the .obj plugin, deeppaint, uvmappers and the such, I now have a better understanding of how this is done - well, how its done outside of AM.

My question is this... How is this effectively done in AM? How are the UV Maps created (I'm assuming by flattening and then applying the texture)? How do you effectively paint on the map? Do you just keep passing it back and forth to a paint program, making changes, and seeing how it looks in AM? If so, this seems quite tedious, and seems that there must be a better way. Especially after playing around with Deep Paint and ZBrush. If I am wrong here, someone please correct me. Also, flattening always has been very confusing to me, but then again, so was trying to get UV coordinates.