PDA

View Full Version : PFlow Smoke...?!

Yagimoth
07-30-2006, 08:24 PM
Hey guys, I built a PFlow, set it up the way I want, but now I can't seem to figure out how to make the particles look, or act like smoke. I'm going for a teleport look, so the particles explode out, then suck back in. Unfortunatley no one has been able to point me in the right direction. I'm looking for as realistic as I can get. Also, if any one knows where I can find a tutorial, or script to plug into Max that can make particle smoke simulate the movment of water, please let me know. Thanks!

Yagimoth
(sorry if I'm supposed to post in a different forum, it's my first time.)

Phibmobil
07-31-2006, 06:17 PM
There are many ways to make smoke. The sollution depends on what look you´re after.
For realistic whispy smoke, i usually use 1-7 mill. tetras with 2 wind spacewarps with different turbulances. Add some drag and bob´s your uncle.

Try searching the pflow thread for more answers ..

!

mackdadd
07-31-2006, 07:32 PM
http://www.cameronjames.com.au/learn.php

check out that link. you'll see a red teapot turning into smoke. great tutorial by an amazing Max guy, cameron james. some of the nicest smoke i've seen in Max without plugins.

supremepizza
08-15-2006, 11:35 PM
Hey guys, I built a PFlow, set it up the way I want, but now I can't seem to figure out how to make the particles look, or act like smoke.

You're going to need a force operator in your smoke event. I usually use 2 winds and a drag within that operator. The key to smoke is the material. You shouldn't have any problems finding any tutorials on smoke materials. Try inside of max.

I'm going for a teleport look, so the particles explode out, then suck back in.

Try a spherical wind in the center with a positive value with an age test operator at the end of that event sending it to another event with an equal but opposite spherical wind with a negative value.