PDA

View Full Version : Particles in XSI ...comparison but no flames

Pesto
07-28-2006, 12:59 AM
Hi all,
I am a LW 9 and XSI 5.1 Fdn owner. I am just starting to learn XSI and was wondering how the particles compare. I'm asking because I am going to be doing a project shortly where some special effects particles will be needed, collisions, and pyro stuff. I have a couple of weeks to spend on leaning the basics of XSI particles if they are worth it vs. do it in LW for now. As far as I can tell, since I am a Fdn owner, I cannot edit or create scripts, don't have hard body (which I can probably fake by tweaking soft body settings) or hair (not needed anyway). It seems LW might be more robust than Fdn (just my initial impression) but I was wondering what other XSI'ers thought. I did see a tutorial for sale at www.3DTutorial.com (http://www.3DTutorial.com) that looked interesting to help learn XSI particles - any thoughts on that for a Fdn owner.

Thanks all for taking the time to read

Sbowling
07-28-2006, 03:35 AM
I'm not an expert at particles in LightWave or XSI, but from my meager experience, I would say "out of the box" XSI is better at controlling particles, but lightwave has the edge on rendering volume effects using hypervoxels (although they are extremely slow to render). The 3dtutorial video on particles is highly recommended (as are all their XSI tutorials) and will show you a lot of things that are not that obvious. Also, I would recommend going into the preferences and setting the interaction/properties and editor views to tab style property editors. This separates everything to it's own tab, so that all the options don't load up in a single page and makes things a little less confusing with particles.