PDA

View Full Version : Modeling a baseball (Stitches)

peglegpeet13
07-27-2006, 10:28 PM
I am very new to modeling, I have just started school. I am modeling a baseball and was just curious if anyone has any hints for wrapping the stitches around the ball. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

Chicano3000X3
07-30-2006, 08:45 PM
you can try putting the stitches as a bump mapped texture.
you can use a pic of a baseball, or make the stitches yourself with photoshop, or even paint..

What program are you using?

peglegpeet13
07-31-2006, 07:56 PM
I am using Max 8, I also have Photoshop CS2 if necessary.

Simen91
07-31-2006, 10:12 PM
if you are using C4D i belive it is a baseball-ball texture there as an defoult... i have never tried it but if it doesn't work out right you could work on it in PS...

deebster
08-03-2006, 10:20 PM
it would be easiest to bump map or draw it in. But if you really want to model it, I would use half of a torus and just dupe it over and over again.

peglegpeet13
08-04-2006, 02:01 AM
I think I will try both ways. Practice can never hurt. Thanks for the responces, I really love modeling. It is great!

bandaid
08-04-2006, 08:47 PM
i am not trying to undermine what everyone else posted, but i feel it would be easiest with modeling the stitches in. i haven't ever been able to find a good/decent texture maps that accomplishes any sort of sports sphere and end up modeling everything from scratch.

baseballs have 2 pieces of leather wrapped around a ball of string or something like that. so you are going to want to cut a sphere into 2 pieces, you could do this with the epoly cut tool, but it would take a while and results may not be symmetrical. therefore, i recommend doing a shape merge onto a sphere, and then putting symmetry on it so you only have to do work on one side.

so make a sphere, and a line object in the shape of soemthing like this:
http://img191.imageshack.us/img191/7718/splineto4.gif