PDA

View Full Version : toothbrush bristles???


cad3dfx
07-26-2006, 08:52 PM
I wouldn't think that this would be too tough... but so far yes it has been a nightmare.
Has anybody had this problem before? And how did you resolve it?

I have tryed tiny lines but now I'm using tiny cyliners with a .003 radius.

I'm using 3ds max with vray and anti-aliasing is set to 0 min 2 max......

But I'm still getting flickering and an overall "dirty" look on the bristles.

Help.

Scratrat
08-15-2006, 10:37 AM
hm, I think you've to change some of the lightning like this:

exclude the bristle-geometry in all of your lights.
duplicate the lights and include only the bristle-geometry for lightning and shadow-mapping.
open the manipulation for the lights one after the other and change the shadowcolour to a light-blue (try a little for the right blue corresponding to your scene) and activate the "light effects shadow-colour".
there you are... the shadows don't seemed to be smudge-like.

try it.

cad3dfx
08-15-2006, 08:34 PM
I havn't tried it yet... but thank you very much that sounds like it WILL work.
I just applied the brute force method and ramped up the AA /rendertime.... and
that seemed to work out... at a price. I like your suggestion.

Thanks again.

Jorma

Scratrat
08-16-2006, 02:32 PM
I'll be glad, when it fits your needings.

so long,

Andreas

CGTalk Moderation
08-16-2006, 02:32 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.