PDA

View Full Version : LightRig broken with Ei 6.5?


Eterea
07-23-2006, 09:38 AM
I have discovered that one of the most important feature in LightRig seems broken with EIAS 6.5:

when I want to use parallel or spot lights, the plugin does not create normal-oriented lights to the surface base. LR respect the tint and position for lights, but the directional vector is zero and identically oriented, ignoring normals.

When I apply the same settings with EIAS 5.0 all works properly.

This occurs with LightRig 1.0 and 1.0.1

Can you please confirm this issue?
Do you think it could be an easy task to fix this problem? Igors?

Thanks for your help

(yes: I know that I can to create my ligth rig inside 5.0 and then open the project with 6.5, but this is a pain)

http://www.etereaestudios.com/temporal/lr_interface.gif

http://www.etereaestudios.com/temporal/lr_eias50.gif
http://www.etereaestudios.com/temporal/lr_eias65.gif

Igors
07-23-2006, 10:41 AM
Hi, CristobalI Do you think it could be an easy task to fix this problem? Igors?
Please upload test project

Eterea
07-23-2006, 02:28 PM
Hi Igors, thanks for your quick reply.
You can download a very simple project from > HERE (http://www.etereaestudios.com/temporal/lightrig_problem.zip) <

When expanding the .ZIP you will find this:

lightrig_to_test.prj (a simple project with the basis model attached to a LR, without lights)
lightrig_ei50_ok.prj (the same with lights generated using EIAS 5.0 --> perfect)
lightrig_ei65_bad.prj (the same with lights generated using EIAS 6.5 --> bad)
model.fac (a simple basis model)
copy to sockets ƒ > ChurchPanorama_BR.img (the pano to use as colour source)

Thanks for your help and best regards.

Igors
07-23-2006, 07:11 PM
Hi, Cristobal

Attached image is created with 6.5 in lightrig_ei65_bad.prj, looks Ok. Most probably, the problem is in preferences. We need 1-2 days more to say exactly what is the reason. Thx for your detailed report, it always makes programmer's life much easier :)

Eterea
07-24-2006, 06:25 AM
Hi Igors, thank you very much for your quick response.

Now I have 2 contradictory feelings:
— It makes me happy to know that LR must works correctly inside EIAS 6.5 :-)
— I am very intriguing about were exactly is the origin of problem :-/

I will analyze the issue in a deepest way.
Do you have some suspect about where could be the key?.
Thanks for your help and best regards.

Igors
07-24-2006, 07:28 AM
Hi, Cristobal
Now I have 2 contradictory feelings:
— It makes me happy to know that LR must works correctly inside EIAS 6.5 :-)
— I am very intriguing about were exactly is the origin of problem :-/
We too :) We need your help. Please check following:
Preferences - KeyFrame - Channel Type - Position. If it set to "Explicit", then created lights are as you have. Select "Implicit" choice. If no luck, please make screenshot of all preferences tabs and send to us, we'll think more.
LR works with 6.5 (Jens used it recently very intensive). So earlier or later the reason will be found

Jens C. Möller
07-24-2006, 09:36 AM
Yes, I use it extensively. But only with radial lights... so I did not discover any anomalies. :(

Jens

Eterea
07-24-2006, 11:12 AM
I am away from my computer now. This evening I will try your advices, Igors. I will upload all the preferences tab, just in case this tip does not work.

Thank you very much for your interest :-)
All the best.

Eterea
07-24-2006, 05:06 PM
Thank you very much, Igors.

I have changed from EXPLICIT to IMPLICIT in the Preferences Keyframe tab and now all works sweet :-))

I love when these small things have a happy end.
Best regards and thanks again for your quick support.

CGTalk Moderation
07-24-2006, 05:06 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.