PDA

View Full Version : realism

zealotweb
03-13-2002, 11:57 PM
i have seen some very good peices in this forum and never know how you guys do it. I'm a newbie to graphics and want to know how to make realistic 3d characters. I have heard about the dodge/burn and all that but there must be more techniques than this. Anyone know of any. PS: they must be quite easy and i must be able to use them in psp7.

Khar_Negt
03-14-2002, 07:44 PM
Well, first learn to draw. With that you can draw realistic character(Changing view isn't a problem since you know what you're doing when you draw :)
Photoshop is just a tool... nothing more :)

JoBbE
03-14-2002, 08:14 PM
hm don't get too special.. often it's not the way you create a picture that is important, it's the result. so the actual technique you use doesn't matter that much.
dodge & burn is good for highlights / shadows , but you can also use lighter/darker colors you paint over the picture...
psp7 is ok, just like ps, gimp, painter or whatever tool you might use.... (ok, ms paint is something for d4 r341 phr34k0r ;) )

(...)
03-15-2002, 01:53 PM
I have seen some very good peices in this forum and never know how you guys do it. I'm a newbie to graphics and want to know how to make realistic 3d characters. I have heard about the dodge/burn and all that but there must be more techniques than this. Anyone know of any.

http://www.sijun.com/dhabih/gallery/howto/

Read this. It's where I got all my 2D paint skills from.

zealotweb
03-15-2002, 11:26 PM
haha! this is sooo weird. That is the only character drawing tutorial i have ever read. I found it a few weeks ago. But thanks any its quite useful. However, it just involves the dogge/burn tools and a bit of blurring. :(

balistic
03-16-2002, 01:59 AM
You need to learn to paint. Period. That doesn't mean you have to actually use /real/ paint, but you should look into traditional art instruction instead of digital art tutorials. Here's a basic tutorial on how to express form: