PDA

View Full Version : New AMD Chip Question/General Hardware Post

Northchild
01-18-2003, 08:33 PM
Hi all,

I'm currently running an XP 2100 on an Asus A7M266 with 1GB of PC2100 DDR and an Nvidia 4600ti. I'm not having any speed problems with software now, but like to stay current as I become more deeply involved with this darned graphic stuff. Is it possible for me to just upgrade the AMD XP CPU at this point to a better Athlon XP (2700-333)? I have no idea of what's compatible with what.

Also, at what point have people here found that "enough is enough?" I'm a student looking to (attempt to) work professionally with this stuff for a small or large company in two to two and a half years. I'm wondering if I've come to the point where all the hardware and software purchases in the world aren't going to help me anymore as long as I stay reasonably current, or even if there is such a point. I can't afford more than a couple of computers to render on, and I have no idea how to use a SGI station, or a Macantosh, or even if I could afford either of these. I'm a decent end-user of PCs and that's always been good enough... but I'm concerned that I'm not seeing a larger picture. I mean - is it possible to just waltz into a large company and say "here's my nifty demo reel, here's where I got my B.A. from and what I did, I know max and Maya for the PC and have a decent workstation at home, can I have a job"?

Any views from above greatly appreciated. :)

Northchild
01-20-2003, 11:15 PM
Anyone? :drool:

MadMax
01-20-2003, 11:40 PM
You could certainly upgrade it with a new CPU, I do bleive that Asus has released bios updates that support faster processors like the newest TBred processors.

Also, you could upgrade your motherboard to an nForce2 setup and increase available memory bandwidth through it's dual channel memory architecture.

Those old AMD 760 chipsets are getting a bit long in the tooth.

elvis
01-21-2003, 12:27 AM