PDA

View Full Version : right order for deformers?

manditri
07-01-2006, 05:46 AM
Hi,
i am a rigging newbie.....i was wondering what is the right order for applying deformers. Ofcourse we can change the order later on.....my Qs below-

Q.1) Currently i decided on this approach-

a) Create the model
b) Place joints, Skin and weight(i went half bald trying to nail this)
d) Add any SDK/expressions to the joints if needed(for joiints controlling joints)
e) Export and store the weight map as a TIFF file for later use
f) Create Blendshape models from the skinned geometry.(Not applying the blendshapes yet)
g) Detach the skin and delete all its history, Now apply all the Blendshapes through a Parallel Blender.
h) Bind the base geometry(with the blendshapes already applied to it) back to the joints. Import the weight map.
i) Add clusters or other deformers on the geometry for localized animation control.
j) Create and connect control objects appropriately.

Is this approach ok ?... Or am I doing some unnecessary steps(I sincerely feel so for steps e to h...i cud just keep adding blendshapes....on the skinned geometry...but i also found that sometimes the blendshapes endup being quirky that way...). Is there need to reorder, add or remove any steps in this approach?

Q.2 After the character setup is complete it can end up having quite a few controllers. How do animators keep tab of these. Are the controller attributes grouped into seperate character sets..or are they keyed one by one....or is there some other way...?

Sorry about such a long read. Wud really appreciate your help.

Thanx

isoparmB
07-03-2006, 05:27 AM
These are my basic steps for rigging a character. This isn't the only way, of course, but I find this flow to be quite efficient: