PDA

View Full Version : My First Showreel

Raspberry
06-19-2006, 01:24 AM
Hello everybody,

I'm new to this whole showreel stuff, so any advice you guys have would be ace. What should I keep? What should I ditch? and what should I do to make the keepable bits better?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aGXYqIMiZJk

Thanks!! :)

Jenni

OneSharpMarble
06-19-2006, 05:33 AM
- Take your email address off, it should be at the front and end. You don't need something distracting them from the work.
- Have a page at the end telling what you did.
- If this an animation reel you don't need a rotation on the giraffe. If this is a rigging reel show the controls and the range the rig has.
- The animation on the army men has alot of pops in the joints, I see some stepped keys that also need to go.
- The two soilders stop dead when they come to attention and alot of the motions have no weight.
- The hands do alot of breaking through and the fingers don't seem to move. You need to move all the controls when going through any kind of full body motion.
- I have no idea what the two of them are doing behind his back, one points to his head and the other wants him to stop I think.
- The torsos have zero up and down when walking, I suggest you do a walk cycle and really analyze it and make it as good as possible. You need to know that during any kind of physical movement the entire body shifts and compensates for weight and balance.

- The little spider robot is a cool little rig. Watch the main body, it is completely fixed in position while walking. You need up and down and weight. There is no sway and even if it is a robot it would still need to balance itself.
- The heart looks good and your paintings are great, forget the zoom out on the paintings, just cut to them. Fade in and out or whatever just get to it.