PDA

View Full Version : "the Aftermath" matte painting.I need your critics and suggestions?

Velarion
06-19-2006, 01:22 AM
Hi there! I completed a new matte painting and decided to post it here. I was having to create something like this for a long time and here it is.A destroyed version of a street in my city. It seemed a bit odd to me at first,to see my everyday environment transformed into rubbles :) I'm a learning matte painter your critics will help me to improve my skills I thank you very much!

http://features.cgsociety.org/gallerycrits/209597/209597_1150674232_large.jpg

and here's the original photo of the environment. And also I found lots of rubble images and used them to make demolished parts of the buildings. Then I used custom brushes to create the landscape and dirt mood.

http://img54.imageshack.us/img54/7864/aftermathbefore8wq.jpg

JJASSO
06-20-2006, 12:21 AM
velarion this is a nice aprouching to a proffesional matte painting, the photo panorama you took, will let you do a nice camera panning if you want to animate it or something.
aereal perspective might need more levels than just that , and scale probably are wrong with those background buildings . your mood is very interesting and well done details in some part look too blury in my opinion,
this is what I think could helpo the image too look more realistic, keep up the good work

Velarion
06-20-2006, 12:19 PM
thank you very much! I'm studying everyday, I hope I'll improve my skills to a much better level.

yellowdog
06-21-2006, 04:45 PM
Hey Velarion ! Great work... nice mood and color palette choice, I love it. Makes it look creepy and a dangerous place. Nice amount of details also !! I love that panoramic picture... unusual framing and element layout make for an interesting starting point !!