PDA

View Full Version : hey long time no see... problem ;)


Triple-Q
06-17-2006, 06:22 PM
oke.. when i boolean two objects.. they both dissapear.. how can i correct this???

i noticed one of the two objects was not capable of doing booleans...

booleans: diffrence i used..

Triple-Q
06-18-2006, 11:17 AM
Hey.. please respond... come on... I thought you guys were the most helpful... :(

:D

Nicholai
06-18-2006, 12:30 PM
I think that one of yours objects is "open", has no volume so boolean can't create a diffrence.

BOSAH
06-18-2006, 12:55 PM
Are you using polygons ? If so, make sure the topology of your booleans is clean with polygon>cleanup (lamina faces, zero face area). Your topology can't have any holes in it either, that causes probs too. All quads as well helps a great deal. Oh and make sure you select the objects in the right order, try selecting them the other way around. If your geom is NURBS, then er.. no idea.

Edit : oh and if your objects have construction history, delete it. I'm sure all this has been posted here b4. <search> is your friend :)

Triple-Q
06-18-2006, 12:57 PM
cool thx ill see if it worked

well none of them worked..

tell me about what you said about quads??? where could i find this feature?

oh yeah im working with poly...

BOSAH
06-18-2006, 01:07 PM
By Quads I mean your object is made of four sided faces.

Edit : Posting an image of the objects you're trying to boolean would help ppl help you.

Triple-Q
06-18-2006, 02:04 PM
yes i know quads are 4 sided faces (DUH!!)

and i know i can post an image..

its just that this happens at several objects..

Robken
06-18-2006, 02:44 PM
make sure your objects are closed...no open holes in them

Triple-Q
06-18-2006, 03:10 PM
there are no holes sir...

CGTalk Moderation
06-18-2006, 03:10 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.