PDA

View Full Version : Doubtssss - with -CINEMA 4D Render Speed

zzmadd
06-17-2006, 12:02 PM
Hi,

I am new to cinema.
I am switching from maya. I am very happy.
I hate maya.

So .. I am rendering just the basic duck tutorial which comes with Cinema 4D.
I finished it, enjoyed it and so on.
But it's time for rendering and I am enxperiencing slow downs.
I am rendering at just 320x200 to check the animation and to see Cinema working.
The problem is some frames take 40 sec, other 30 minutes!!
Camera is steady, nothing different is moving in the background.
I am on a mac, with cinema 9.6.
It seems to me that the difference (much longer render time) happens when I "Hide" Cinema 4D and using the apple+H command ...
By checking Activity monitor, even when taking long cinema is taking 195% of processor speed.
So I don't know ... if it is in the foreground it goes fast otherwise not.
Doesn anyone know? Shall I renice cinema?

thanx

Srek
06-17-2006, 12:04 PM
Maybe your system is running out of physical RAM and is starting to swap out to harddisk? Or maybe you animated HN subdivisions or something like that.
It's realy hard to tell what is happening without beeing able to see the scene.
Cheers
Björn

zzmadd
06-17-2006, 12:15 PM
Well, the scene is the one in the Duck tutorial that comes with any copy of Cinema 4D.
It should be pretty well known.
Yes there are HN in the scene. The 2 ducks are HN.
plus fog

The point is that some frames are much faster than others .. with no apparent reason. From 2 minutes to 30 minutes ... and the scene is almost the same ...

well I don't know. I come from maya and there render speed has always been pretty consistent between frames...

zzmadd
06-17-2006, 01:57 PM
Maybe it is the HUGE shadow map used by the key light of 5000x5000
I quit and reopened cinema and now the average is at 3.45 min per frame .. so no 30 min frames .....

I wrote to maxon too

3DKiwi
06-17-2006, 07:24 PM