PDA

View Full Version : Help rigging a ball

coldfuse[ofX]
06-16-2006, 04:02 PM
Hey guys i am currently using 3dsmax 6 and well i wanna start some animation, of course i wanna start from the fundimentals and begin with animations using a ball.

Now i have found some wondeful files with ball riggs which actually seems a little harder then first thought. One difficulty is the links of bones, which with the ball i have are invisible. So i can deconstruct to replicate, wondering if someone could help go through with me how to rigg a ball. thank you!

FabioMSilva
06-16-2006, 06:42 PM
i've seen your file. Since i'm no expert in rigging, i don't feel confortable enough to give you advice on the skinning of it, i hope somebody does tough. But i am wondering, why to rig a Ball? For the squash&stretch? Wouldnt it be easier to use a modifier like taper or something when animating it?

Anyway, good luck:)

riri284
06-27-2006, 11:29 PM
i did one if you want.
if you are using 3ds max, here it is

http://www.richardadenot.com/downloads.htm

PEN
06-28-2006, 04:22 PM
Funny that one of the simplest things it would seam can result in a very complex rig. Have a look at the latest ball file that I developed for a current project that I'm on.

Ball Rig: 9 meg MOV (http://paulneale.com/technical/ballRig/PEN_ballRig.mov)

Sorry, no I'm not going to share the file.

riri284
06-28-2006, 05:55 PM

riri284
06-28-2006, 05:58 PM
i would supposed wou wouldn't share that... could you give a little detail about it though? i suppose it involve some scripting...

PEN
06-29-2006, 02:45 PM
There is a thread on the Max boards where I have given some more information. I don't want to hijack this thread.

Squash-n-Stretch
06-29-2006, 06:09 PM
i did one if you want.
if you are using 3ds max, here it is

http://www.richardadenot.com/downloads.htm