PDA

View Full Version : Mental ray: too many rendering problems


joana
06-07-2006, 10:01 PM
1. Often it shows an error that it can't support HDR files, so it will convert them.

2. "failed to create frame buffer": Rendering large (?!?!) (3600X3600) pictures with displacement, using DBR or Backburner will render all black, showing only the buckets' brackets (as in: http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=241005&highlight=%22mental+ray%22+size+error ).

3. Sometimes it says it can't find some maps that are not used (or which objects are hidden).

max 8 sp3, winXP sp2 , 2GB RAM

:banghead:

n3no
12-08-2006, 12:36 AM
Hi Joana,

I guess you may be having the same problems as I do. I've had some issues with a large scene in vray. While attempting to render in large res it would shut max, but in smaller res the render would complete. So we assumed it was a memory consuption problem. From what I read Windows (32bit) will have a 2Gb Ram max availability for what application may be rendering tough you may have more than that in psysical ram. Lots of folks are using 3dmax v9 64 bit on 64 bit machines and that solves a lot of memory problems besides being faster.

The issue you refer on #2 may be related to bitmap pager. Try this:
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showpost.php?p=3549401&postcount=6

as for #3 go to the material edito->Utilities->Reset Material Editor Slots - this way it will only remove materials from the slot and not the scene. When max goes to render it will look for materias hanged on material slots cause although they may no be in use on your scene, they could be used for enviroment or effects. after cleaning material editor slots go to File-> Asset Tracking and press refresh. That should do it.

Hope it helped.

CGTalk Moderation
12-08-2006, 12:36 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.