PDA

View Full Version : Ok I just laid down 2k on a system! Someone tell me it was a goo choice!

E17JO1
06-05-2006, 05:15 AM
Haha ok I'm not used to spending a lot of money on a system (more like 600 bucks) but seeing how i'm starting to get into 3d Apps, I knew I had to upgrade.

Keep in mind that i'm an extreme beginner to 3d apps so although I would have liked a BOXX or something spectacular, I finally was being practical and decided to get a "decent" system!

These are now my specs!

-Asus A8N-E NForce4 Ultra Mobo (I Really didn't need all that SLI stuff as I don't want 2 vid cards and I don't play games)
-AMD Athlon X2 4400+ with stock Heat Sink & Fan (I don't OC)
-2 GIGS (2x 1GIG) of Kingston DDR 400 PC3200
-XFX 256MB GeForce 7900GT
-Lian-Li PCV1000 Plus With Stock 3x120mm fans
-Sony DVDR 16x Dual Layer
-Western Digital 74 GIG Raptor
-Thermaltake 550W Power Supply
-Windows XP Professional OEM
-1 Year Parts and Labor Warranty

Everything was 1977.71 after tax.

I know I could have gotten things cheaper online but knowing my luck, I will end up getting half my parts DOD and I dont like the hassle of shipping it back and paying a 15% restocking fee!

So did I do ok?

SweetDreamz
06-05-2006, 05:22 AM
Ask before getting it would have helped. :P

Everything looks great, any more harddrives? Or just the Raptor? Consider getting another one for storage and use the raptor for apps/games...etc.

E17JO1
06-05-2006, 05:42 AM
Oh yeah! Trust me, I've asked and asked and did a lot of research and that's what I came up with haha!

Yeah, just the Raptor for right now! If I do decide to get another hard drive later, maybe it will be an external or something! I've been using my computer that I have right now and it has a lot of songs, games, maya + max (poorly runned), and some other crap and I have a stock 80gig using only about 24gigs all together.

Ed Caracappa
06-05-2006, 12:13 PM
you should be very happy with that system.

Ed

alejandro_m1
06-05-2006, 03:51 PM