PDA

View Full Version : face scaling?


diginime
06-02-2006, 04:15 PM
Hi guys, i had a problem here. I created a cube, then i select 2 faces and duplicate it by using Ctrl+D. But when i use scale tool to scale it in X-axis, it become like below picture.(2nd pic). Before that i can scale it properly,but i dunno why it will bcome like that.I already turn on the Transform Components independently in Local Mode.Is there any settings to do with this?Please help me...thx.
http://img74.imageshack.us/img74/9251/19ku2.jpg
http://img371.imageshack.us/img371/7833/29sn.jpg

This is the pic from a tutorial which scale properly.
http://www.chnl1.tv/images/dice/frame-11.jpg http://www.chnl1.tv/images/dice/frame-5.jpg

sciics
06-02-2006, 05:25 PM
i guess you need to turn on COG or off if its on...

grahamef
06-02-2006, 06:04 PM
When you duplicate using Ctrl+D, the Merge option is on by default, so if the original polys were adjacent then the new ones share an edge. To fix it, open up the Extrude Op in the stack and turn off Merge.

You can also use either Model > Modify > Poly. Mesh > Duplicate Polygons or Ctrl+Shift+D to duplicate both these methods automatically open the property editor.

diginime
06-02-2006, 06:18 PM
is Ctrl+D and Ctrl+Shift+D the same function? I mean is it the same usage?

daniel77
06-02-2006, 07:21 PM
ctrl d is a regular duplicate. ctrl shift d is a duplicate with options. turn of the merge and scale them down in local mode without the COG button pressed

JDex
06-02-2006, 07:33 PM
XSI has (what I would call) an "odd" way of determining polygon normals. Just use the inset command for this approach

diginime
06-03-2006, 02:14 AM
ctrl d is a regular duplicate. ctrl shift d is a duplicate with options. turn of the merge and scale them down in local mode without the COG button pressed
Actually i'm new to XSI from Maya, so i did not know much about it.Have to learn more.Thanks guys.

Chris-TC
06-03-2006, 02:27 PM
This is the pic from a tutorial which scale properly.
http://www.chnl1.tv/images/dice/frame-11.jpg http://www.chnl1.tv/images/dice/frame-5.jpg

If this is all you want then Inset is certainly your best choice.
Transforming polygons in local mode is, uh, quite a problem in XSI. Theoretically it should work by turning on Local mode and turning off COG. But often this does not get you the results you want.


You can also use either Model > Modify > Poly. Mesh > Duplicate Polygons or Ctrl+Shift+D to duplicate both these methods automatically open the property editor.

Duplicate Polygons does not extrude them. It creates a duplicate of the selected polygons but they are not connected to the original geometry.

Sbowling
06-04-2006, 01:20 AM
Duplicate Polygons does not extrude them. It creates a duplicate of the selected polygons but they are not connected to the original geometry.

That all depends on your prefs settings. I believe the default is to have them connected, but you can change this in the PPG by selecting duplicate polygons.

diginime
06-04-2006, 04:07 AM
By the way.what is the difference between COG and local?

That all depends on your prefs settings. I believe the default is to have them connected, but you can change this in the PPG by selecting duplicate polygons.

What is PPG? Where to get it?Sorry for asking this silly question coz i'm new to XSI.

JDex
06-04-2006, 04:44 AM
COG - Center Of Geometry (or Gravity if you will)
Makes a bounding box of the selected objects or components, transforms by that bound box center.

PPG - Property PaGe
Windows that you change parameters.

We're all new once. It would behoove you to really use the manual in the begining... it's far better than most. Really.

diginime
06-04-2006, 06:00 AM
you mean the guide in XSI tutorial?Is there any easier guide for using this?

dwigfor
06-05-2006, 07:28 AM
Also, FYI: Read up on Center. Transform/Move Center to Bounding Box is very useful for moving the center to your object rather than from origin 0,0,0. If you want to symmetrize your polys, you'll need to move the center to the border edge, otherwise you'll need to offset it.


But for your problem, I'd either use Global mode, or Inset Polys.

CGTalk Moderation
06-05-2006, 07:28 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.