PDA

View Full Version : Fantasy artwork in progress

Jürgen Hubert
05-29-2006, 09:42 AM
I'm very new to digital art - I only bought my graphics tablet one and a half months ago, and I haven't done any art before that since I left school more than ten years ago. So I can use all the advice I can get. ;)

I've done about two dozen quick sketches so far - simply redrawing existing photographs from the internet to get a good feel for basic shapes. But now I want to tackle some more ambitious things, such as large and full-color fantasy artwork.

So far, I have done a fantasy landscape (which you can see here (http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/33805585/)). But now I want to draw fantasy characters, too - which (to me, at least) are a lot more difficult than landscapes.

Here is what I have so far:

http://www.enworld.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=24460

Everything was done with GIMP.

I used a variety of images of models on the internet to get the basic atonomy right. But I'm still not quite happy with it - her dress still looks too much like a modern business suit than something from a fantasy world. And something seems not quite right with her face, but I can't put my finger on it...

Any suggestions on how to improve the figure would be much welcome. So, critique away! ;)

Iridyse
05-29-2006, 01:08 PM
It says I have to join enworld to see your image. Why not just get a Photobucket account and upload it there? :)

Jürgen Hubert
05-29-2006, 03:06 PM
Gah. I would have put it on my own FTP server, but it isn't accessible at the moment...

I've put it into an attachement now. I hope that works...

EDIT: Seems to work fine now.

NR43
05-29-2006, 06:33 PM
Hi Jürgen,

as a fellow noob (been drawing since december 05 and getting started on painting as well) I want to share my knowledge :D