PDA

View Full Version : Game Art: 2d Buildings

JonasNoell
01-08-2003, 01:26 PM
Hello everyone!

Here you can see two buildings out of the game we are currently working on. The game will be an isometric 2d game with its own engine. Both images were mostely drawn with Photoshop. Since I'm very new to Max I only rendered the simple geometry.

http://www.nut-shell.com/~josh/Upload/files/Fachwerk.jpg

http://www.nut-shell.com/~josh/Upload/files/MauerEingang.jpg

Feel free to critizise. Greetings...
cANt

Tumerboy
01-08-2003, 01:36 PM
Wow, they look great man, keep it up.

bibi5000
01-08-2003, 02:02 PM
Did you use texures from Return to Castle Wolfenstein (the wood, the door of the gate...)? :shame:

But looks very good.

JonasNoell
01-08-2003, 02:10 PM
Yes, I used some reference textures I found in the Web...

gaggle
01-08-2003, 02:20 PM
Oh hell yeah, that looks really nice. Very nice sharpness to the textures, it seems very nice. I think the house is the most well-made of the two, everything really makes sense there.

What I notice on the piece of castle-wall is that the two towers are using the exact same texture.. maybe you could mess up the texture a bit so they're not alike? And also the tiles that makes up especially the roofs doesn't make sense when you look closely. Take a look at the corners and something is just.. wrong. They don't seem to interlock or anything, instead they give off the impression that each side of the roof is a flat textured surface..

The water-reflection of the wall and towers looks very nice. Will the water be animated somewhat or static? If the latter, has it been considered wether or not it'll end up looking too frozen and weird? Anyways, just a thought. I figured maybe the water, if no animation is allowed, might be easier to sell if it was made to look "thicker", ie more.. more "moaty".