PDA

View Full Version : spine and arm controls

ratatat
05-17-2006, 11:11 PM
Hello all...

Hoping someone could give some hints on spine and arm controls.. i'm an animator who has a basic understanding of rigging, but the finite details still twist my mind at times.

here is my status #1:
I have a spine, i want to add nurbs circles for easy selection. It has been mentioned that i parent the nurb to the spine, so it is essentially like selecting the joint. my problem lies where i want to select 3 contols in hierarchy for a nice spline effect when i rotate, but it won't rotate them all. I've also had suggested to orient constrain but this seems to move my joints and rotate them strangly. Anyone have any tuitorials that might enlighten me?

#2: I have 90% of my IK arm set up with wrist control and elbow control. I would like to use maya's built in IK/FK switch. I know how to turn it off and on, but i am having trouble constraining the wrist control properly so that when i turn off the ik it will follow the joint during fk animation. Would i set up driven keys for this?

wow, sorry for so much to read, thanks for the help anyone can offer.... cheers.

aryzner
05-18-2006, 01:10 AM
Okay I am far from a pro but I'll do my best to try and help out...

#1: I don't really understand why all of your spine won't rotate... when you orient constrain them, you are selecting the NURBS curve and then the joint, right? If you do it the other way around, it'll come out all wrong. If your joints are rotating upon putting the Orient Constrain on them, then maybe go into the Orient Constrain options and turn on "Maintain Offset." I made a pic of what my simple 2 second FK spine looks like:

http://web.ics.purdue.edu/%7Earyzner/cgtalk/joints_spine_cgtalk.jpg

#2: I personally don't like to use Maya's IK blend attribute at all, I do the other way of setting up the IK/FK switch... easy to understand tutorial can be found here:

http://www.rigging101.com