PDA

View Full Version : Question: Facial Rigging for UED 3 (Max)

oXYnary
05-16-2006, 08:53 AM
Well since UED3 version is available to the public (with the AGEIA physics card) some NDA's can be crossed here without Epic yelling. What method would I use to say oh, make a facial rig that would work with it? Should I be doing a bone system or morphs? (Personally since Im not good at setting complex bone interaction morphing would be easier).

If it is a bone system, does anyone have a downloadable demo head that shows a good example of how to set up the bone system for a real time application? In 3ds max.

Oh and if it is bones being the prefered way, how many different bone weights per vertex are allowed? (I think I remember it being only 2 for UED 2)

Also, even if I choose morphing (if again UED 3 is leaning this way). Your talking to a facial newb here, so where do I bone and where do I morph? In example, I assume I still have a bone system for the mouth and eyes. Do I have one for the tongue also, or just a morph? What if one of my morph targets needs the mouth open (example: displaying the emotion fear)? How is that accomplished between morphs and bones?

M.E.L.
05-16-2006, 02:53 PM
Well since UED3 version is available to the public (with the AGEIA physics card) some NDA's can be crossed here without Epic yelling. What method would I use to say oh, make a facial rig that would work with it? Should I be doing a bone system or morphs? (Personally since Im not good at setting complex bone interaction morphing would be easier).

As far as face stuff goes, Unreal usually plays nicest with bone based facial setups. Last I had heard they were using FaceFX from OC3Entertainment as a licensed option for generating facial animation which plugged into Max/Maya and ran off a bone setup.

If it is a bone system, does anyone have a downloadable demo head that shows a good example of how to set up the bone system for a real time application? In 3ds max.