PDA

View Full Version : Stern gaze

pap87
05-13-2006, 01:42 PM
Got some brief inspiration after watching some tutorials, so I thought I might let myself go and see what happens.
This is what I came up with after two hours. Don't really have any idea what I was trying to achieve other than to make the guy look tough.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f177/pap87/Day1.jpg

Hope to get it looking a bit more detailed. Am trying for dramatic lighting so I hope I am on the right track.
Crits on anything you see here are most welcome.
Thanks for looking.

pap87
05-14-2006, 05:32 AM
Upped the contrast, added some background.

http://i47.photobucket.com/albums/f177/pap87/Day2.jpg

I'm not good with backgrounds. Don't know what else I would do here. I'm happy with how it looks. 3 hours work so far. Thanks for looking.

pap87
05-15-2006, 07:13 AM
I guess no one's replying either because it's shite or there's nothing wrong with it. If it's the latter, should I bother posting it in the finished section?

frostblade
05-15-2006, 11:16 AM
I think it pretty good :)
You might want to work on the eye area a bit more... it's very white while he is in a dark place....might want to add some shadow to the area where it looks like the brow part of face is casting a shadow on the eye area too.

Runecaster
05-15-2006, 12:17 PM
Well this is just the first I've seen it Pap -- I've gone for days and days with not a soul making a comment on my thread - it goes in waves :)

I wonder what you're going for here - it's so stylized that it's hard to make a crit because it could entirely be what you intended. Ya know?

The only thing I've noticed (besides the eye which frostblade mentioned, and I agree with) is the nostril - I think it should be out towards the edge of the nose more. That much flesh at the end of the nose just doesn't happen in a human usually --- but like I said, it almost doesn't look like he's really human necessarily, or he's comically exaggerated and that is the intention...