PDA

View Full Version : Need help with rigging (using a biped)

Neo_Crisis
05-11-2006, 05:53 PM
Hi, I'm new to 3d animation and I trying to add a biped to my character mesh. I having trouble aligning the biped with the character mesh and also having trouble adding apply physique.
I can't get the character pose able at all. I only have 5 days until project is due and my animation class has taught me nothing. :sad: Can someone show me how to add a biped to a character mesh? I also attach a file of the character, I'm using 3DS Max 8.Thanks.

Neo_Crisis
05-11-2006, 06:15 PM
Also is better to rig a character first and then do cloth? (Also I will need help with clothes...*sighs*)

safe05
05-11-2006, 06:35 PM
For posing the Biped character, make sure you are in "figure mode" when adjusting it. (little "guy" icon in the motion panel) Try to have the bones fill the character as best as possible by just scaling them and moving the feet/hands into place. Once you have this, apply a "Skin" modifier to your character and add the Biped bones to the modifier's list. (note: the "Skin" modifier should be below any MeshSmooth or TurboSmooth modifiers) Now test your skinning assignments by moving different Biped bones around. Let me know if you encounter any problems with the above. :)

Neo_Crisis
05-11-2006, 09:00 PM
I still having problems :cry: The character still not pose able.:sad: I attach an update file of the character mesh with the biped. Can someone check out the file to see what I did wrong(3DSMax).:sad: :cry: Please.

Mahlon
05-11-2006, 09:38 PM
Neo-C

There may be something wrong with the biped? Not sure, but I cannot get any "undo" function; also, the Bip01 center of mass is free floating; in other words the pelvis is not linked to it as far as I can tell. Have you tried creating a new biped and see if things work correctly. I created a new biped in your file and it works fine.

Where are you enrolled in Memphis?

Mahlon
FedEx Corp.
Memphis TN

Neo_Crisis