PDA

View Full Version : Render Region in "Perspective" view.

seth0x2b
04-28-2006, 06:20 PM
Hey guys.
I'm new to MEL so I was wondering:
Can I interract with the pespective view(or any other view) in any way from/with MEL?
To make my point clear, an example: I love the Render Region in XSI and Cinema4D, because I can use it "right there" without having another window open etc. I would like to be able to do something like that (after about 1 year of MEL lol).
So, could it be possible, and if so, some reference scripts/ideas are very welcomed.

Cheers

Starrider
04-29-2006, 09:17 PM
i had the same wish when i switched to maya. the only similar thing i know is the camera-button (right near the region render button) in the render view (since maya 7). it copies the current rendercam's viewport image to the renderregion. now you are able to select the parts that you want to render.
but the isn't a real compensation for the xsi-viewport-rendering!

-----
-.--/---/..-/.----./.-././/.-./../--./..../-/--..-//..//.-/--/--..-//-.-.-./-.--.-/

seth0x2b
04-30-2006, 01:13 AM
Yes...that's the screenshot button.It does help alot, but it still doesn't do it for me.. :(
Oh well.I'll start from scratch with MEL and hopefully in a few months I'll have a script(that is...if it's even possible)
I just wanted to know if it's possible before I go on a deadend journey...

Cheers

Bonedaddy
04-30-2006, 04:08 AM
Not really possible. Maybe with the API, but unlikely.

Starrider
04-30-2006, 09:48 AM
i also don't think that this is possible. no way with mel!

seth0x2b
04-30-2006, 01:23 PM
Oh well...I'll accept the compromise. 10x for your interest in my thread

Cheers

wrend
05-03-2006, 03:39 AM
i thought about this a few years ago, and i reckon its half-baked possible w/o too much fuss.