PDA

View Full Version : Getting MIDI data into Maya

BarryLegg
04-26-2006, 09:57 PM
Hi, I know this is a big ask considering I've made such a small contribution to this forum - but I'm well and truly stuck with a problem, and my lack of experience with 3D and programming is slowing down.

I want to create a series of animations wherein certain objects around the scene are controlled by data from a MIDI sound file. Things like - pitch of the note determines objects Y position, duration of note effects speed of translation, things like that, timing is important but nothing too complicated.

I've been told on the HighEnd3D forum that I will need to parse the MIDI data before bringing it into Maya - and I was told that to do this I would need to run a MIDI parser module in Python... now I have no idea how to go about any of this - I've never coded or used a language before in my life.

So my questions;

1) Is there a simpler way of extracting the relevant data from the MIDI files? A standalone program for example, or...

2) Does anyone know of a Python module that would do such a thing (which preferably runs on a Mac) and if so - how to use it?

3) What would I then do with this data? Would I have to somehow convert it into a .mel, a .ma or a .mb? How would I go about connecting it to geometry within the scene?

4) Has anyone successfully done this before?

If anyone has any information or help to offer - I really would love to hear it, as I said earlier - I'm pretty stuck here.

Kind regards,

Barry Legg.

Dmaxer
04-28-2006, 12:17 PM
I wrote a script to do this , it ran a small Dos program to convert midi data to a text file then the script read the text file and animated objects to this data , all this was done using 3D max but I would think you could do the same thing for maya , so yes I would say this can be done

BarryLegg
04-28-2006, 01:47 PM
Hey! That's good news.