PDA

View Full Version : Creating Normal Map Probs + Importing into 3D Max


Imperium
04-25-2006, 10:17 PM
Hi, this is what i want to do. create normal map in zbrush then export it out and apply it to my low res model in 3d max, simple enough concept.

But when i have detailed my head in zbrush and i create normal map, the map thats produced has large gaps in it.

Can anyone help?

Thanks in advance.

eblondin
04-25-2006, 10:49 PM
can you post pics?

are you viewing this map in max or in zbrush?

did you flip the map vertically?

Imperium
04-25-2006, 11:02 PM
Hi, ive attached the pic of whats happening. Once created in the textures menu it appears like it does in the atachment, also when i export is as bmp/psd it has the same gaps. Fliping V does nothing, still has gaps :(
Thanks.

eblondin
04-25-2006, 11:08 PM
are you using zmapper to make your normal maps?

if not dl it. its free and far better than the regular one that ships with zbrush

Imperium
04-25-2006, 11:10 PM
hi, ive got that but it still seems to do the same things :S
thanks.

eblondin
04-25-2006, 11:11 PM
so, what is it suppose to look like on your model?

does it look different on your model in max than it does in zbrush?

Imperium
04-25-2006, 11:14 PM
Hi, yea it is the same, just in max when i apply it as a bump map>normal bump it causes gaps in the mesh that correspond to the gaps in the normal map.

thanks.

eblondin
04-25-2006, 11:31 PM
what presets are you using?

ryan kingslien just came out with brand new max presets for zmapper not too long ago. might want to try those.

and you are sure that you are flipping the texture vertically before you take it into max and apply it to the mesh?

any texture from zbrush to any other app has to be flipped vertically for it to be displayed properly

Imperium
04-26-2006, 12:51 AM
Hi, 100% sure its not the flipping thats the prob. Do u have a link to these presets?
thanks.

eblondin
04-26-2006, 01:29 AM
yeah here ya go (http://www.zbrushcentral.com/zbc/showthread.php?t=30858&highlight=zmapper+preset)

Imperium
04-26-2006, 10:23 AM
hmm still no effect :S. I think its sumthing to do with the UVs?
thanks.

sebcesoir
04-26-2006, 01:32 PM
Did you flipped vertically your picture when you export it from zbrush? It alwas flips pectures vertically...

Could you show a view of your uvs?

Imperium
04-26-2006, 05:46 PM
Hi, this is the process i go through...

1. import my obj file.
2. GUV Tiles
3. subdivide it to about level 6 or 7
4. create texture 4096x4096
5. Projector>Drop now and paint my displacments etc
6. Pick up
7. go to lowest sub division level
8. set normal map res to 4096, create normal map
9. i get a normal map with gaps in, as seen in the attached pic.

Yes i do V flip, but it has 0 effect :( its like there is chunks missing from the map.
Thanks.

eblondin
04-26-2006, 06:09 PM
You shouldnít set your uvs until you create a texture in zbrush

but your pictures look fine. the pic you posted is what GUV tiles looks like. there is nothing wrong with it unless it looks messed up on your model

can you post pictures of it messed up?

Also could you post a pic of the model in max with the texture not flipped vertically then post another pic of the model in max with the texture flipped vertically?

Thanks

Imperium
04-26-2006, 06:14 PM
there it is...

Imperium
04-26-2006, 06:27 PM
The problem must lie in the mapping in zbrush, i must be doing somthing wrong. Can someone post me their work flow for creating normal maps in zbrush? most appreciated.
Thanks.

eblondin
04-26-2006, 06:31 PM
your workflow is fine for the most part, can you post another pic of the model in max with the texture flipped vertically?

Imperium
04-26-2006, 06:41 PM
ok here it is, but im convinced the problem lies with sumthing im doing in zbrush. Ive never seen a normal map with random gaps in :S
Thanks.

eblondin
04-26-2006, 06:44 PM
okay here is your problem

the mesh you are working on already has uvs, so when you hit GUV tiles, that destroys your uv layout and creates a new one, GUV tiles is a totally different method to lay out uvs. it creates big blocks of uvs like the layout you already showed.

thatís why your uvs are totally different and why when you apply your new texture back onto your model in max with the old original uvs it doesnít look right

donít hit GUV tiles, just use your existing uv layout and you will be fine

Imperium
04-26-2006, 06:50 PM
THANKS!!! it works now :buttrock:

knew it was my fault:rolleyes:
such a simple thing n i spent hours trying to figure it out lol

eblondin
04-26-2006, 07:01 PM
np Imperium

btw Sebastien, you freaking rock man.

CGTalk Moderation
04-26-2006, 07:01 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.