PDA

View Full Version : C4d 9.5 Basic package: limitations?

DizzyJ
04-22-2006, 02:37 AM
My client is thinking of adding 3D capability to their video suite. While I'd like to push for Maya, since I'm more familiar with it than any other package, pushing a $2k solution may mean never seeing any 3D work there (where I'm a long-term contractor). If Maya Complete is out, the most likely alternative is C4D.

We won't be doing any character work, so I don't need advanced rigging tools, mo-cap, or similar tools. Therefore, my main concern is with the rendering quality of basic C4D engine. I've used the demo, so I know basic shading is easy, but I don't know how flexible it is compared to Mental Ray and Maya's shade nodes. I'd also like to know what other things I might run into that might surprise me coming from a (limited) Maya background.

Thanks

Per-Anders
04-22-2006, 03:38 AM
Well character animation is it's main weakness, but if you're not doing any of that then chances are that's not something you gotta worry too much about. However the timeline itself is very weak compared to Mayas.

The base package also doesn't include much in th way of UV editing, there's standard projections and some very basic stuff, even free plugins out there, but for anything good you need either bodypaint or to use a dedicated solution (or another app). Also it doesn't have a modeling history like maya, instead it depends on either procedural modeling or destructive editing (or a combination thereof). It also doesn't have any true NURBs surfaces, though many people seem to enjoy working with it and rhino, so i guess that's not such a big issue.