PDA

View Full Version : How to animate water splatter?

shirak23
04-21-2006, 06:50 AM
I need to do a shot where something like a pebble or a drop of water hits a small pool of water and makes a little splash. I'm mostly concerned with making the splash. I think I have to make the object falling a hard collision something or other (can you tell I'm a dynamics newbie?!) :) Any help would be great! Here's some pics to show what I'm after...

bluehonda
04-21-2006, 07:15 AM
this can easily be done with RealFlow. if you dont have that i think your gonna have to go with Blobby particles.

Bonedaddy
04-21-2006, 03:07 PM
How close up do you have to be, and how detailed?

shirak23
04-21-2006, 07:58 PM
I just downloaded the trial of RealFlow, so we'll see how it goes. And, I want it to be about what you see in the photos, about that close. I don't know if I even need to texture it to look realistic, I was actually going to go for a more illustrative look. Thanks for the replies!

shirak23
04-22-2006, 07:19 AM
Okay, so you said it was easy to do in RealFlow... Can you explain how? I'm tearing my hair out over here and the nexlimit tuts aren't helping. ARRRGGHH. heh heh. But really, if you can explain it to me that would be great. I need it for a project!

Bonedaddy
04-22-2006, 06:35 PM
Realflow is a good solution.

You could also do it with blendshapes, deformers, secondary particles, and whatnot, all in Maya.

modernPrimitive
04-24-2006, 10:14 PM
For a quick solution, but without the typical "crown" look, you can create an ocean or pond (default ocean/pond from the menu) and add a wake and keyframe the density/sec.
You can then you can use an emitter with blobby surfaces to get a splash.

bluehonda
04-27-2006, 12:47 PM