PDA

View Full Version : What do you think about my site?


Michael Chen
01-02-2003, 04:36 AM
Hi Everyone :)

I've just finished my website (beta 1.03 version).

Here's the link --> Ziggwi (http://www.ziggwi.com)

Can you all please give me some feedback about my site. Positive or negative critics are welcome.


Thanks for your time everyone :)

Note : If no one has noticed, when you go into "Gallery". And choose a section to go into. There is actually a little bar under the slideshow, that you can "DRAG", to see more pictures.

slayerment
01-02-2003, 05:54 AM
i think its pretty good. everything loaded quickly. maybe in ur profile section, make it so when u roll over a name it goes back to the top of that box. maybe make the text selectable since ur using dynamic. i dunno though its up to u. but ya, i must say pretty good. clean and easy to navigate. keep it up.

jdiddio
01-02-2003, 08:30 AM
Hey Rakuwa
Really nice site, I'm just trying to get mine up, so its nice to see you can do pretty much anything you want with a site.
I was wondering though, on your site when you click on an image, it displays on another window. How do you get that? I know its actionscript, but I've looked around and can't find anything. If you could help, I'd appreciate it
jdiddio
www.jessboy.com

eudemonie
01-02-2003, 12:01 PM
I was wondering though, on your site when you click on an image, it displays on another window. How do you get that? I know its actionscript, but I've looked around and can't find anything.



<a href="yourLink.htm"target="mn "onClick="window.open('','mn ','resizable=0,scrollbars=1,width=800,height=600,top=0,left=0')">Textlink</a>


mn = you can change these var
to the ASCII of your choice ...

For the Textlink you put your <img> tag in:
--
<a href="yourLink.htm"target="mn "onClick="window.open('','mn ','resizable=0,scrollbars=1,width=800,height=600,top=0,left=0')"><img src="imageLINK"></a>



hopes that helps

--
eu

Michael Chen
01-02-2003, 09:09 PM
Thanks for all the comments guys, I really appreciate it.

jdiddio - You need some help with launching pop ups? Well he's a javascript that I just created



<html>
<head>
<title>Ziggwi</title>

<SCRIPT LANGUAGE="JavaScript">
<!--
function newPage() {

newWindow = this.open("http://www.ziggwi.com","Ziggwi",

"toolbar=no,menubar=no,location=no,scrollbars=yes,resizable=no,width=500,height=500");

}
//-->
</SCRIPT>

</head>
<body>

<a href=javascript:newPage()>Open Pop Up here</a>

</body>
</html>


Copy it and paste it into an htm file. This opens a blank page with the words "Open Pop up here", and when you press it the pop up comes out.

Now heres the main point. If for example you've got a button in flash, just simply copy this code "javascript:newPage()" and paste it onto your button with the "getURL" starting code. For example the complete code in flash would look like this. (that is if the pop up occurs when the button is pressed)

on (press) {
getURL ("javascript:newPage()");
}

Hope that helped :)
p.s. I just got up so excuse my incorrect spellings

jdiddio
01-03-2003, 12:59 AM
Thanks a lot rakuwa!
I'll try it out

jdiddio
01-03-2003, 01:29 AM
Originally posted by Rukuwa
Now heres the main point. If for example you've got a button in flash, just simply copy this code "javascript:newPage()" and paste it onto your button with the "getURL" starting code. For example the complete code in flash would look like this. (that is if the pop up occurs when the button is pressed)

on (press) {
getURL ("javascript:newPage()");

Hey Rakuwa, I did what you suggested. But when i click on the button it can't find the javascript page. Do I have to name the java page something specific when i save it? or does it have to be located somewhere specific? Or do I have to add it to the flash's html script when I publish it?
If you have any ideas, I'd appreciate it
thanks

[msf]
01-03-2003, 02:43 AM
very nice. I see you use Flashkit for loops :)

piajartist
01-03-2003, 03:40 AM
:thumbsup:

Michael Chen
01-03-2003, 03:40 AM
Thanks for the comments guys




jdiddio

Hey Rakuwa, I did what you suggested. But when i click on the button it can't find the javascript page. Do I have to name the java page something specific when i save it? or does it have to be located somewhere specific? Or do I have to add it to the flash's html script when I publish it?
If you have any ideas, I'd appreciate it
thanks

Hay watch out you just wrote

on (press) {
getURL ("java script:newPage()");
}


1) remember "javascript" is a whole word, you didn't put a space between java and script, or did you?

2) also you swf file has to be in the same folder as the htm file.

3) just publish your swf, and html in flash. And then copy the javascript file and paste it onto the head of the html file.

Hope that helps :p
p.s. if it still doesn't work I'm happy to create a fla for you

jdiddio
01-03-2003, 05:14 AM
Hey Rukuwa
Man, I've been trying everything. I went to flash resources, went to flash kit, but nothing works. I can get a window to come up but its blank and I think there's an error or something (little yellow triangle at the bottom left) I think I need to see how it should look in an .fla. If you could send me that, or post it, I'd REALLY be grateful. Script just isn't my forte.
jesse

Michael Chen
01-03-2003, 10:03 AM
Here's the file

pop up (http://www.ziggwi.com/mike/flash/pop up.zip)

p.s. Hope that helps :)

Michael Chen
01-04-2003, 11:08 PM
jdiddio does the pop up work now?

jdiddio
01-05-2003, 12:10 AM
Hey Rukuwa
Man, after messing around for awhile I finally got it to work, so thanks for ALL your help man, you've made my site that much better. When I'm finished I'll send you a link to check it out and critique it if you want.

Michael Chen
01-05-2003, 03:25 AM
yeah ok :)

CGTalk Moderation
01-14-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.