PDA

View Full Version : Horse rigging


Yugene
04-20-2006, 04:09 PM
Hi everyone.
I started rigging a horse.
Tricky moments are for now:
1) Legs - XSI & MAX "floating" constrains are better for legs, but in Maya)?!
2) Neck - wanted smth like in FBIK example!

Would be very cool if U check the file & maybe share your oppinions.
http://www.webfile.ws/d/4032 (http://www.webfile.ws/d/4032)
Password: horse
The work in progress!
Thanx!

Nicool
04-22-2006, 11:23 AM
Wow, this his great. Continue to post, I'm learning to rig and I soon want to rig a horse too. We would be really glade you give much explanations on your rigging choices, your tips... and much more ! I suscribe your thread :thumbsup:

PEN
04-23-2006, 03:34 PM
Here is a horse rig that I set up for a film, I can't find one of the completed ones, I must have it somewhere so I will if I can come up with it. This might give you an idea of joint placements if you are interested.

http://paulneale.com/technical/mayaHorseRig/horseRig.jpg

Yugene
04-24-2006, 06:41 AM
Thank You very much! I send update soon!

Yugene
04-24-2006, 11:05 AM
Ok this is my update!
Work in progress!

1)Check legs! This is the way I wanted!
2)Still some problems in the chest area, but U can solve the problem with "Angle_Ctrls"
3) U can swithch off two constrains on any leg - to FK Angle control
4) Spine 01.rz = IkSpline.twist
5) Some SDK help

Ok Im very interesting in opinions about:

1) in case with muscle system will it be enough to use the current spine setup?
2) FBIK neck? Any suggestions ?

Thanx a lot!!!

Good luck!


http://www.webfile.ws/d/4166 (http://www.webfile.ws/d/4166)
Pas: horse

Yugene
04-24-2006, 03:31 PM
It seems to me that I was mistaken about the amount of motion of the horse's scapula! It moves but slightly I'd say! Am I right.
I've bought these dvds http://rhinohouse.com/ they are great but no skeletal structure in motion. On bbcmotiongallery.com & junglewalk the same. Maybe anyone can share some info?

Any opinions around the scapula motion?

Also I'd like to know if I'm supposed to use Comet Muscle system later, should I rebuilt my spine setup, neck or smth else! I'd be very greatful if someone who is more experienced will point some mistakes for now!


So my explanation:
1) For now all legs have 2 IK system as U can check, back legs - I'd call - "cross IK", front -"liniar IK". Give U opinions! Using one IK can give "leg angle" control.
2) Spine is symple for now - but I have done a lot horses in MAx for game & think it's ok for now?!
3) Neck! I'd like to "simulate" smth like in Camel FBIK example, but yet in research)
4) Another point for neck - need to reache the ground! That's why it's curved?!)
5) Tail as usual but maybe FK
6) For difficult parts like neck.... I'll use Pose Deformer - works great! No BS from now), unless muscle skin?!

Thanx!

PEN
04-24-2006, 07:10 PM
It seems to me that I was mistaken about the amount of motion of the horse's scapula! It moves but slightly I'd say! Am I right.

yes you are right on this one.

Yugene
04-25-2006, 06:49 AM
Thank you very much for your reply!

Paul, U used 2 controls for the legs on the rig U've sent! Any SDK, expressions, utilities in this area? I mean should I somewho automatize the legs? Or better animate by hand?

And U use 2 IK too! It meens that scapula moves exactly as in my case! Maybe I'm mistaken!?

Thanx!

Yugene
04-25-2006, 02:35 PM
This is my update.

1) Ok, I've found that it's better to parent "Upper controls" on front legs under the Spine control, check file attached!
2) What I dont like for now - legs in the hooves area. Will fix.
3) Here a brief test of Muscle Skin - http://www.webfile.ws/d/4205 (http://www.webfile.ws/d/4205), pas: horse

And please guys give me more feedback)))) Even if it's hard for U or very simple)))) I'd appreciate any help!
It's not a blog)

Thanx!
Good luck!

PEN
04-25-2006, 03:25 PM
What I have for those mid controls is just a bit of movment in them bases on the position of the hoof. It is just set up with a constraint system so that I get just a bit of scapula movement. This was for a cartoon horse so I had to be able to handle really crazy things with it so I needed lots of control. You realy need that control in a horse for running and jumping as well.

Yugene
04-26-2006, 05:19 PM
Hi everyone who's worried about the horse. This's another update.
1) Bind started
2) Neck changed
3) Smooth version for skinning cuz wanna test muscles
4) Spine twist was changed
5) And I decided to SDK mid controls on the front legs
6) Not a perfect rig - but for current project will work

CGTalk Moderation
04-26-2006, 05:19 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.