PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to this... (nudity)

Salubri3i
04-20-2006, 02:20 AM
http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/5441/1622/1600/april20-06.jpg
I'm new to digital painting. There are so many great artists here and I feel so small. I am so inspired by their works though. :thumbsup: especially by linda's. :love:

Here's something I'm working on. Critiques are very welcome. :bounce:

offbeatworlds
04-20-2006, 01:06 PM
LOL, who isn't inspired by Linda?

This looks really good. Is this your first digital painting ever? I think your only problem is your blending and your use of color. Don't be afraid to use bolder more saturated tones, especially in shading skin. Also contrast will really help define your shapes and separate things, like the hands on the feet. Your anatomy looks really good. The hair could use a little work, don't over detail it. Actually, if you go to Linda's website and check out her "Thoughts on Smooth Blending" and "Hair" tutorials, they could really spice up this picture. Very good so far though, keep it up!

Salubri3i
04-21-2006, 12:39 AM
thanks for the advice. i will certainly keep it in mind the next time i do another figure painting. you're right. my skintones look too pale and chalky. :sad:

i was actually reading linda's hair tutorial while i did the hair for this one. unfortunately i could not avoid the pitfalls she mentioned as my OC' ness kept kicking in. :D
oh and yep. this is my first somewhat official digital painting. i have lots of doodles. :bounce:

Salubri3i
04-21-2006, 01:02 AM
http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/5441/1622/1600/mountains%20of%20mist2.jpg

I made the silly mistake of using the wrong brushes for the foreground. I definitely lack sleep. lolz.

mental note to self: "make custom brushes!"

Salubri3i
04-22-2006, 01:36 AM
http://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/5441/1622/1600/sketch-2-3.jpg